You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future is Female: U.S. Election Results - many firsts!

in #news5 years ago

I love that there are more women being elected. Thanks for highlighting them! Do you happen to know the numbers of men vs women in elected roles at this point?

I'm also a little confused though. You wrote:

white women who think they’ve achieved something should take a step back to realize that they’re playing into white male supremacy

Are you suggesting that white women should not bother running for office? If not, what do you mean by they "should take a step back"? I'm a big fan of diversity among our elected officials - but I don't see white women stepping back so as not to play into white male supremacy as a viable solution to increasing that diversity.

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for the response. I don’t know overall stats - just that it’s been roughly about 20% ladies in Congress.

Thanks for asking me to clarify rather than assuming - I really appreciate that! What I meant is: I feel like sometimes I’m given a “cookie” as a white woman - which is supposed to make me feel like I’ve achieved something. It also makes it easy to be blind to all the other people who aren’t getting cookies at all. When “gender equity” only promotes white women, I’m asking for white women to consider that their position is more fragile than they’re being led to believe -- they empowered, but more to be the “token” than an equal. I think ALL women should run for office, white women included! I just don’t want them to be blind to why they’re the ones getting the majority of the “power" - if that makes sense? I want them to “step back and consider the situation”, and approach things with a more critical mindset that will ultimately lead to more fairly distributed power for all people. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67