280 Characters Good. But Twitter Still Needs that "Dislike" Button

in #news7 years ago

News of the increase in the number of characters that can be typed on Twitter has been received with a lot of excitement. This is certainly a welcome development and I have absolutely nothing against it. However, it still baffles me how Twitter has not seen the reason to include the "dislike" button:

 

I bet a lot of us have wondered times without number: Apart from saying it by typing out the words in reply, how do I express my dislike for a post on Twitter?

I have not only thought about this before. I have actually also written about it. The result of this is that it increases your chances of acting like a hypocrite. I sure several times we have come across unpleasant tweets on our timeline that we don't want to waste our time typing a reply to; and we would certainly not want to retweet to our followers. So what other Twitter action are you left with? The like button.

Of course a lot of people would say things like: why not just ignore and walk away; unfollow the person who posted the tweet; or, block the individual. The simple truth is that there are tonnes of unpopular posts going around on Twitter all the time. Would it be necessary to do the above listed things? Or is it easier to simply click a "dislike" button so as to curtail the circulation of such posts in future?

I don't know about you, but I'm still wondering why it seems so difficult for Twitter to introduce a "dislike" button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61