Donald Trumps decision to recognise Israel's sovereignty over the Golan Heights

in #news5 years ago (edited)

f9d25f19943349caa822ad7494fffca8_18.jpg

I haven't posted on Steemit for quite a while but today after reading that Donald Trump has decided to recognise Israel's sovereignty over the Syrian territory of the Golan Heights I thought I would put it to all of you and ask how everyone feels about this?.

Me personally I feel it's a colonial attack on Syria and the middle east and and is by no means legal just because Donald Trump says so. As far as I can tell it's all about money as usual as recently oil has been discovered in the Golan Heights.

Some may accuse me of anti semitism but that's idiotic and I personally do not even believe in the word semitism, it's wasn't just Jewish that were persecuted by the Nazis in world war 2 and even so that was a long time ago give it a break, it was a terrible thing that was done but it's in the past, it's over.

I'm giving my view from a perspective of serving with the United Nations on both sides of the Golan Heights, Syrian and Israeli occupied. The Golan Heights was only occupied as a buffer zone between Syria and Israel to prevent further hostilities and was ALWAYS still part of Syria regardless of what the Israelis occupying the land believed. The land was the home of many Syrian people and they still hold the hope of one day returning home.

Israel and Donald Trump claim that Syria cannot govern the Golan Height in it's totality as their country is in ruin. Yes at present the state of Syria is still in turmoil due to the US, Israeli and Turkish proxy forces, "Free Syrian Army" who's revolution to remove Bashar Al Assad and place a patsy government in Syria to control it failed. That revolution is all but over now, the remnants of the FSA and other terrorist linked groups are now contained in the northern province of Idlib surrounded by Russian and Syrian army. Damascus is now a safe city and life goes on like any other global city.

When I was being deployed to Syria I had a view from the media that Syria was a dangerous place where everyone is out to kidnap you and kill you and that the government was a ruthless group of murdering, torturing criminals who the people of Syria despised. I WAS WRONG. Once I moved into the syrian side of the Golan Heights I found out the truth first hand and it shocked me.

First of all the people are the nicest most friendly and welcoming people I have met in the middle east so far and are by no means the evil terrorist loving people western media has implied.

Secondly Damascus itself is a bustling city full beautiful sights and ancient architecture, it felt like I was on holiday in any city in the world sampling the local cuisine in one of the many restaraunts, stopping off in the modern hotels and strolling through the winding back streets enjoying the view and sights to see. It felt very safe and very welcoming not the terrorist haven I was led to believe.

Thirdly the peoples view on the FSA, the government and the white helmets. The western media's view on everything in Syria is false. The people although they say Assad is no angel, he is the best the country has to rebuild the nation and he's actually quite loved by a lot of the people, he makes regular visits to the people and is considered quite down to earth and caring by the people. They admit he's not perfect (what politician is?) but he is a man of the people and a minority himself and therefore doesn't believe in the muslim or catholic way of thinking as such he believes in governing the people as a whole.

The FSA. They are not the free people of Syria rebelling against the evil Assad regime, the majority were actually foreigners and not Syrian at all and when they did control a lot of Syria they let it fall to ruin and lawlessness and persecuted the people and anyone who didn't fall in line with their beliefs. They were hated by the people, I heard many stories from the Syrian people of how the FSA used to bomb civilian neighbouroods relentlessly and not just hit military targets then try to blame Assad for the atrocities, do they sound like the kind of people you want to rule you?.

The white Helmets. This was a huge shock to me as the media paints a picture of these angels of mercy who save the people from Assads relentless attacks. FALSE. According to the locals they are considered terrorists and hated by the people of Syria. A prime example is the staged chemical attack in the Damascus district Ghoutta. This was an orchastrated pantomime. The white helmets forcefully dragged people from the streets threatening them and proceeded to hose them down with fire hoses, the people didn't know what was happening. Shortly after on cue the cameras came out and pictures were taken of children being carried out in distress after a "chemical attack" by Assad on the people of Syria. They were in distress because they has been threatened and dragged off the street and hosed down. I heard this story from a woman who lives near where the fake attack happened and said if there really was a chemical attack she would be dead and exactly what would Assad have gained from launching a chemical attack against a small group of rebels that were already beaten and losing the war, it makes zero tactical, military or political sense for him to use chemical weapons. She went on to tell me that have I ever noticed how everytime the white helmets do anything theres a camera and always a picture of them carrying a child. She said they are fake and only there for propaganda and most of the time are the ones who actually stage the attacks.

The people of Syria mostly don't care about politics and war they just want to live their lives in peace and enjoy the same freedom the rest of the world enjoys. This attempt to legitimise the Golan Heights as Israeli territory is only going to fuel the fires of war and further disrupt and destabilise the entire middle east even more than it already is. Just because you are illegally occupying a piece of land that belongs to another country doesn't mean you can claim sovereignty over it. If I buy a house and land in the United States does that mean I can announce that it is sovereign land of my country just because I occupy it? NO it does not. The same applys to the Golan Heights, they Illegally took the land in the first place and are now Illegally trying to claim it as Israel now. It's no surprise to me either though to be honest as Israel has done this from the moment the United Kingdom gave them a state. If you visit many middle eastern countries in the region they refer to the area Israel now occupies as Palestine.

It is Illegal under international law to acquire territory by force and in 1974 that is exactly what Israel did in the Golan Heights. The US and Israel just gave the rest of the world the middle finger and as usual the weak United Nations will do nothing about it. Not trying to say that I don't like the people of Israel and the US but for this latest Illegal move economic sanctions should be placed on both countries. If we start to ignore the law then what stops further groups from invading and using force to gain territory and saying well the US and Israel did it so why can't we?. Yet the US would be the first to jump in against Russia or any other country and condemn the use of force to gain territory.

Sort:  

Slavery was in the past. Can you just say - its over?? Forget about it? Epic traumas remains for generations...

That's a big difference because slavery still happens today in parts of the world. What Hitler did is not happening to the jewish now. I understand the actual survivors have a reason to be angry but the next generation?, why exactly? Nothing has been done to them. It was a terrible event that happened a long time ago. Should people still get very angry that the vikings pillaged them?.

I'm sorry but I feel sorry for the ACTUAL holocaust survivors but not the future generations, it's just petty to look for sympathy for something that happened before you even existed, generations after it happened.

Where is slavery legit? Theatomic bomb is also in the past. Should we forget about that too? Is history worth anything to you?

Yes, but I'm not going to feel sorry for people who it isn't happening to. What's the atomic bomb got to do with it? And again that had a lasting affect due to the nuclear fallout caused by the bomb that will affect generations of people. What exactly will the holocaust do to future generations of jews?? People whom it never happened to and is not happening too. Bad things happened in the past but they are just that...in the past. People who dwell on the past will never make progress. No point crying about something in the past. History is history it's in the word. No I do not feel sorry for anyone because of history. I feel sorry for people who are currently being oppressed.

The Israeli government and I'm saying the government because it is the zionist government, not the majority of Israelis whom I have met and find lovely people are remembering the genocide and tyranny caused by hitler in world war 2 by slowly erradicating the palestinian people and taking their land bit by bit in an act of genoicide themselves?, doesnt seem like I should feel sorry for them as they have learned nothing from it.

Mostly I like Donald Trump. I didn't vote for him. I voted third party. I've been pleased with most of his actions.

There have been a few things I definitely did not like and they for the most part have been related to Syria.

Each time Trump was about to pull out of Syria mysteriously a "gas attack" by "Assad" would manifest at a time things were going well for Assad.

Trump would have Ivanka and others show him photos of kids "allegedly" impacted by this. They would push the narrative that it was Assad and that he would somehow want to entice the U.S. to stay at a time he was planning to leave. To what I consider a reasonable mind it was a little nutty, especially considering Assad is no idiot.

Then looking further into the White Helmets and learning more about them it began to be pretty clear what was going on.

Some of Trump's bigger mistakes have been the swamp creatures he has surrounded himself with at times when he is "draining the swamp". One of these is John Bolton. He is definitely a Neo-Con and if anyone has read the PNAC (founding group of Neo-Con's) documents it becomes clear they want these wars, and have been working towards creating them and having "justification" to do them.

Now, I don't know a lot about Golan Heights as I haven't really looked into it. Yet if it is land that has historically Syrian that only has been a neutral zone during this conflict then indeed this is not something we should be backing. The acknowledging another nation as having the right to land than was not theirs.

Yet, considering past Syrian issues I am of the opinion (guess) that he is again being advised by what I consider bad advisors.

Does that mean I am now anti-Trump? No.

I'm pretty surprised he has managed to accomplish what he has done. Yet he is human and I've never met a human I agree with completely. We are all different. I also can't cast all the blame on him. He has been historically unprecedented attack, and interference. His pool of people to draw from that are willing to do the job is likely quite limited in this atmosphere, and a large portion of congress is fixated on ousting him (have been since before he was sworn in) rather than doing their job. If they were doing their job perhaps there would be some bipartisan voices to offset these limited swamp creature advisors.

I can't say.

All I can say is as with many Syrian decisions this seems to be a blemish on Trump's administration at this time. I only know a little bit and what you wrote.

What an excellent reply and impartial. I am also neither for or against Trump, I don't think he is a terrible president from my understanding but he has made some questionable decisions and is far too pro Israel for my liking, between the embassy in jerusalem and the sovereignty of the golan heights he is inciting mass amger in the middle east. I also hear he is for Israel taking one of the most sacred buildings in the muslim religion, the dome of the rock and turn it into a jewish temple which would have catastrophic worldwide concequences.

I'm not sure what to think of the future in light of these events.

I think he should have done what he did with regards to the embassy. It separates him from past presidents who promised to do the same thing in that he has kept his word. Obama and others made the promise and never did it. I have no problem with where the embassy is, that should be up to the nation to dictate their capitol. I do see an issue with Golan Heights though based upon how you framed it.

Though keep in mind I do think he is getting a lot of bad advice. I know I couldn't achieve half of what has done if I were in his situation. I'm kind of impressed. At the moment I would vote for him. Largely due to him keeping his word and the stuff he has managed to accomplish even while under unprecedented (and now proven unjustified) attack he his been under.

That doesn't mean I agree with all the things he promised. I don't expect to agree with another person completely.

I do expect them to keep their word, and that is difficult to achieve these days.

I will tell you I literally would have voted for any single other candidate running before I voted for Hillary. At one time I liked her, but then I learned far too much about her. As far as I am concerned she may be the most corrupt politician we've ever had. No way in hell I was going to vote for her.

I voted Libertarian party for president in 2016, and 2012. I voted for Obama in 2008. Everything he promised that I voted for him on he did 100% the opposite.

As I am not american I cannot comment on your president in regards to voting as it's none if my business I only see what he is doing from the outside and to be fair to him he is turning the country around economically and keeping many of his promises. In regards to Obama he was a very loved president for who he was, a very likeable guy but in regards to leading the country, he was weak and frankly not fit for purpose, he never did anything he promised which got him the votes to become president. Being a likeable guy doesn't mean a thing if he can't lead the country.

What I will say about trump is he isnot weak, far from it and it's quite clever how he allows the swamp monsters to get close to him and swiftly outs them for what they are mostly. He's by no means the idiot orange man people made him out to be, if anything he is very smart and calculating.

I agree that Hillary would have been a massive mistake to vote into power, she was a corrupt war monger even though trump has an agenda by not fully withdrawing the limited illegaly deployed troops in Syria I do think that Hillary would have jumped to a full scale invasion of Syria.

I have to say though that the US has no business in Syria whatsoever. Regardless of ISIS whom are still heavily linked to being created by the CIA in the first place, you can't just deploy into another sovereign state without the permission of that nation regardless of your motives, the west needs to stop interfering with the middle east. The only foreign troops in any country should be those requested by the host nation. I'm so sick of these political power games going on in the world and after being a guest of the Syrian people all I saw was how these games have caused great suffering to the citizens of syria who just want to live their lives and don't care about the political power plays going on.

I'm also sick of Israel bombing Syria contstantly and demanding Iranian troops leave Syria, who do they think they are, if Syria want Iranian troops in their country that is their choice and nobody elses business. During my time in the golan heights I never witnessed a single act of aggression from the Syrian side towards Israel yet I witnessed hundreds of Israeli missiles fired into Syria on multiple occasions in breach of the 1974 UN resolution and the UN knew about it of course but the UN is just too weak to do anything but condemn them and use strong words. Sometimes you have to wonder what exactly is the point of the UN.

I have to say though that the US has no business in Syria whatsoever.

Technically the U.S. has no business in most of the places it is in. We also should never be committing war without declaring it. Yet it has been a very long time since the country followed that stipulation of our Constitution.

I'm so sick of these political power games going on in the world

All across the world. It is a real mess.

Sometimes you have to wonder what exactly is the point of the UN.

Unelected global governance. Often I think they inspire and create problems so they can rush in with solutions we otherwise would not embrace. Hegelian Dialectic.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Congratulations @rickyjrx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67