Home invasion of LocalBitcoins trader

in #news6 years ago

One the best things about Steemit is my money is in Steem Power. You can't rob me of something that takes 3 months to power down. I expect to see more of these robberies. Meeting someone to sell them coin in person is dangerous, but you should also always be worried about a home invasion too. Here is the first hand account:

So this morning I woke up to my burglary alarm going off. I went downstairs to investigate. Two men broke into my house through the basement window and ran up the stairs. One of them pointed a gun at my head and said “I want yah cash and yah bitcoin” in a Boston accent. I took him into my office and gave him a couple hundred in twenty dollar bills. He said he wanted my bitcoin.....

quote source

So this guy never traded with these scumbags, but someone he did trade with tipped them off. This shit is scary, you might think a couple hundred bucks is no big deal, but these guys were meth addicts

36730168_1769539229796719_4342037101022281728_n.jpg
image source

To some desperate junkie a coupe of hundred bucks is a fortune.

Protect Yourself

  • tell no one where you live if they know you sell Bitcoin

  • security system

  • cameras

  • big dog

  • gun

  • consider cold storage and safe deposit box

  • Have a fake wallet with a small amount ready, like when you go to Mexico and have a dummy wallet with 20 bucks for the muggers, meanwhile your real stash is hidden

https://localbitcoins.com/forums/#!/general-discussion:armed-break-inhome-invasio

https://whdh.com/news/northborough-armed-home-invasion-suspects-nabbed-after-manhunt/

Sort:  

Addiction is bad habits in our life. Why people addicted I don't know. Thanks @viraldrome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66