Mona's Kitchen - Yemen Podcast Profile (German-with English transcript)

in #news6 years ago (edited)

Podcast_Yemen

Hi Steemians!

I am very happy to share my very first country-podcast about Yemen with you. A war torn area that isn't covered widely by the media. This podcast is in German, but for all of you who don't understand this funny language, I want to give you a little insight by posting the transcript of an interview with a Yemeni BBC reporter I spoke with, it starts at minute 16:07. The music in this podcast is very special and composed by @snow.owl, if you haven't checked him out on Steemit yet, please do so now!

Transcription:

Mona: What do you see when you look outside of your window?

Adil : Actually, now I am on the roof of my house, looking for a signal to make the call with you. Smoking. And I can see the footballstadium which was hit by an airstrike during the war 2016.

Mona: Could you explain as simple as possible how the situation is right now?

Adil : For sure. Houthis actually dont have any presence here in the south, not at all. Also Saudis don’t have big presence here in Aden. They have presence im Regierungsbezirk Mahrah. Which is in the borders of Oman and Saudi Arabia. Last week people in Mahrah went out in big protests calling Saudi Forces to leave their governorate. They are not welcome anymore in the governarate. They don’t want them anymore. I don’t know the reasons but what we hear there is like the Saudis planning, you know, to make like oil pipes to the Arabian sea. It is a matter of business and a matter of interests. We don’t feel like, you know. It is not the same feeling as it was in the first days of the war. Like the coalition and the factory came to help us, and they tried Houthis and Iranian forces out of Yemen, but actually we realise that they have different properties and different agendas. Yemen is a big cake for them and they have their big shares now. The Imarakis are focusing on the locations and important positions. Saudis they are focusing on the oil, like, they are eating us alive actually. If you ask me these questions like 2-3 years ago my answers would be totally different. But now, to be honest with you, like we understand it, these people are not here to help us anymore.

Mona: Do you feel supported at all?

Adil : I feel like they are forgetting us. And they don’t care about us anymore. This is what I feel like. I have been outside, abroad several times and the first thing I thought about is like, why don’t we have a normal life, like these people. Why we are having these wars for a long time. Actually we say here we have world cups for wars. Like every 4 years, 7 years 8 years we have a war.

Mona: There are peace processes involving the UN...

Adil: To be honest with you, we lost hope in the UN and all these countries. We don’t believe them anymore. Because, you know, Saudis they are controlling the UN somehow because they are supporting their offices here with billions of dollars. So UN is not doing its job as it is acquired from them.

Mona: What would it need for Yemen to end the war?

Adil: What will bring peace here in Yemen is stop intervening in our domestic problems. We have like the problems with Houthis, Houthis they are still Yemenis, you know we can talk to them. We can sit on one table and sort out our issues together as Yemenis. So we don’t need Saudis, we don’t need anyone else. We just need to sit together and resolve our issues together and that’s it.

Mona: What is Yemen like without war, what does a normal day for a Yemeni man look like.

Adil: It is very, am, you know I will tell you something. When I go outside my country I don’t feel like a normal life. I really want to come back to my country, even though the situation is so bad I want to come back to my site. You know, because I find my joy and my comfort here, here in Yemen. Without war this would be paradise. We have very beautiful, very amazing beaches, and the longest coastline in the Arab world. We have Sokotra Islands where I have been two months ago with BBC 2. Also we have oil, we have beautiful places, countryside, green places, ancient places, which makes Yemen a good and powerful country. But our neighbours are not happy with that.

Mona: Thank you for taking the time....

Thank you for tuning in steemians!

And always dive a little deeper....

18268 Whale Dance Media logo design_15 copy-1.tiff

https://steemit.com/photography/@whaledancemedia/an-african-village-in-the-middle-of-vienna


Sort:  

Hallo @whaledancemedia, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Chat unter https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei. Mehr Informationen über den deutschsprachigen Discord-Chat findest Du in diesem Beitrag.

Wenn Du auf Deutsch schreibst, verwende immer #deutsch als einen der 5 Hashtags, um Deine Reichweite zu erhöhen.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

Thank You for bringing awareness to this topic! I haven’t heard anything about this on the news at all! Looking forward to learning more!

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Your voice is such a pleasure to hear in any language! I am looking forward to the next episodes already! Bravo!

Thank you so much :)!! I am already working on the next one.

Congratulations @whaledancemedia! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @whaledancemedia! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

I am very happy to read your words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59