No New Year Resolutions for Me

in #newyear4 years ago

We like to make plans and promises. We like to tell ourselves we're going to change. We like to tell other people we're going to change - "I'm working on it!". But not a whole lot of these plans ever actually manifest. I'm making plans, and I'm making changes, and I'm working on projects - but I'm not going to talk about anything until I have proven my consistency in creation to myself.

Video mentioned:

You can support me here: https://www.patreon.com/getreal
and on Steemit: https://steemit.com/@cerise
Like my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/getrealwithCJ/
Sign up for Desteni I Process (you can ask for me to be your Buddy (like a life coach)) here: http://desteniiprocess.com/
Get to know Desteni a little better here: http://desteni.org/
Support the Desteni message as well as yourself at your local existential library: https://eqafe.com/

Sort:  

I very much can relate to what you are talking about.

The practice you talk about, and taking one step after the other opens up to all those little things during a regular day of work, family life, free time. I think one can do this practice within every encounter during a weekly day.

Waking up, having forgotten to buy coffee and being creative with the given situation instead of getting angry at oneself to having forgotten to provide oneself with coffee. It's the annoying things one can practice with. Seeing a disturbance or an non convenient moment as the exact chance of practicing it offers.
Being stuck in the traffic: good opportunity to come to rest and relax.
A colleague at work not granting us a "good morning" to ask if he/she would like to have a cup of coffee.

Being in a dialogue with someone contradicting us, even making us angry to take as an opportunity to practice patience. Not jumping right away at wanting the other one to please us. Not wanting him/her to calm us down but wanting us to pacify the emotions within ourselves.

Over time, as you say, that is the creation of a new habit. This habit will manifest itself and make our lives a better daily experience. It's actually not the grand things but the little things which ease suffering and pain.

There is a Zen saying:

Before enlightenment: chopping wood and carrying water.
After enlightenment: chopping wood and carrying water.

I would like to ask a question: Would you say, and you have indicated it, that working less hours - and taking the consequences of less money along with it - provides a less stressful life? I am asking because maybe that is your plan?

I myself have reduced my working week to round about 17-20 hours. Those hours I do work I put in my love and practicing spirit into. That requires that I have a high interest in my profession. Not seeing it as a bread job but looking at it as something I am in synch with. Being in service towards those who I am working with.

Thank you for taking the effort to put up a video. Happy to have found you here.
Greetings from Germany!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75