My first visit to my mother's land (AWE) somewhere in Oyo state Nigeria.

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I am so sorry guys, I have not been active for about two days now, well, it's never my fault cause I had to leave for my mother's land, her parents are now late and they intend to have the final burial ceremony today which is 23rd of December 2017, her parents which are my grandparents, though I never knew them in person, I could only access their pictures and I got to know that my grandfather died and few months later his wife also did, my grandfather died at the age of 80 and his wife died at the age of 77,just a month interver was what their death record has.

Journey to my mother's land.

I left Lagos on the 22nd of December 2017 which was yesterday, I left Lagos around 8am going to Ibadan, I spent about 4hours before getting to Ibadan and spends another 2hours plus before getting to my mother's home town (AWE) in Oyo state, though the journey was quite hectic but I later found some amazing things there in AWE which I would talk about below.

SOGIDI LAKE AWE.

image

Here is a lake in AWE where I learn you can fine one Lake like that called "SOGIDI", in this lake you can find a clean water where no one knows where it comes or stops, I learnt that "SOGIDI" Lake is a place where people come to fetch water and it never appears on the water that some has been taken.**
image

that's the water with some leaves on it but mind you when you move closer you will find out that the water is so clean and at this lake it's forbidden that one should put on a foot ware and there is a particular spot in the lake that one mustn't exceed.
image

I learnt that at that point where one sees that wood you can see on the lake is where on one must try to exceed while visiting the lake. It was stated that there used to be a mermaid that do appear from this very Lake but for a while now it has not been noticed.**
image

As you can see in the picture above is the picture of the mermaid I was told that used to appear there in the lake and I also learnt that there is an annual festival for the lake that the people of AWE do for the lake.**
image

Above are some of the trees you can find very close to the lake that not everyone can move close to, though, I never assumed my journey to AWE could contribute to my knowledge, but thank God it does. More info about the village AWE is coming up soon, stay tuned!

Thanks for stopping by.

Follow @tezzmax.

Sort:  

Congratulations @afrovoter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

May your grandparents rest in peace. You're moms hometown Awe is really blessed with nature, awesome shots bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70