So you’re going to college eh?

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

spring-179584__340.jpg
Education, life, rebirth and studies.

Don’t mind me that first line just felt epic to say. I have just finished watching season 1 of American gods, and trust me folks it is banging!.

It took me about 10 hours to watch it all, and I am honestly surprised I was able to binge watch it all to the season 1 finale.

Having finished the whole season, I felt a sort of, emptiness. You know the type you feel when you’ve done or completed a task and have absolutely nothing else to do. This reminds me of my college days. When I would ration watching a movie, with studying for an exam. Mostly just watching movies or playing games all week long and binge reading all through the night before the exam.
American-Gods-posters.jpg
american gods posters
A story goes thus,

Once upon a time, in a school filled with vile lecturers and assh*le course-mates, an exam was before us in a week time and it was quite the most boring of them all. GST 201 it was called, highly boring to those who have taken it, it deals with the culture and lifestyle of the people in the country.

On Monday the announcement was given. From Monday to Thursday, I gave myself a false hope, that time was still on my side, therefore I spent the whole time playing PES on the laptop, or watching football in a local bar(viewing center for my 9ja peeps). By Friday the real concern began, bargaining with my lazy self became the order of the day. Thoughts like ‘’I would study 2hrs, in exchange for 8 hrs of movie’’ were pretty common. By Saturday, One would think I was Jacking all day long, nope, I slept, browsed a little, called a little, played a little, but mostly slept.
people-2562626__340.jpg
By Sunday however, whoever saw me would think I was reading for the next NASA recruitment program!.

Safe to say, I got a solid C on the course, nice, good, but ultimately, luck was the culprit here.

The story above just illustrates how I and several of the people I know, have behaved in college.

Its a pretty funny thing though, One day you're with your parents, the next you're with a bunch of people, many as confused as you are about this new world you're entering. Lecturers come in and teach about topics that we have no idea about. Useful life lessons that ought to be taught are thrown out the window.
university-2704306__340.jpg

college and life

In college there may be a lot of fun time, a lot of partying and dancing, but what matters is putting your head down and in the game. School isn't about parties, or dancing.

At the same time, it isn't about burying your head in books and forgetting about life outside that four walls of university.

In college, you need to learn, learn about the way life really is, how the world operates, sure you may be studying chemical engineering, but all that book isn't going to help you when next you bump into a gang member on the street. All that isn't going to help you when you need to go shopping and there isn't enough money yet. It may appear on your CV, but it doesn't help you if you don’t now how to answer an interview question.

Learn life, not books.



Other pictures gotten from pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66