A very foolish mistake

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

mistake-1966448__480.jpg

So I came back from work yesterday very tired. It had been a very hectic day and on getting home, I just felt like crashing till the next day.

sleeping-32750__480.png

As it was,I couldn't do that because I live with both my parents.

After changing into home clothes, I entered the kitchen to join my mum in preparing dinner which was rice and stew. alongside, she was also preparing white soup with catfish to be stored in the fridge for the weekend.

She had already sliced the vegetables - bitter leaf and pumpkin(ugwu) - needed for both meals when her phone rang and she left the kitchen with instructions for me to put them in when needed.

making-food-982410__480.jpg

The bitter leaf was to go in the white soup (as a sort of flavour) while ugwu was for the tomato stew.

Since they were already sliced, I looked closely at both vegetables to be sure which was which before adding them to the cooking pots and then went to sit with my dad and brothers in the living room.

A few minutes later, my mum asked from her bedroom if I had added the vegetables. I answered yes.

She asked if I added them as she instructed. I got slightly angry and muttered to myself..'is it the first time I'm cooking food in this house? Mrs-I-too-know…..'

frog-48237__480.png

Aloud, I answered yes and that if she wanted she could go back to the kitchen to make double sure.

After awhile,she went into the kitchen to serve dinner. Next thing I heard was a loud shout from the kitchen…'Jesus Christ…this girl has killed me o'.

smiley-1958283__480.png

We all ran into the kitchen to find my mum standing with her hands on her head. 'useless girl…see what you have done' she pulled me towards the pot of stew and gave me the spoon.

Not understanding what the fuss was about, I tasted the stew and immediately ran to the sink to spit out the contents of my mouth…

shock-2757395__480.jpg

yekpa!!!
I just realized my mistake… I had added the bitter leaf to the stew…it was the first time I had ever tasted bitterleaf stew….it wasn't nice at all…

My dad and brothers collapsed in laughter

smiley-1981935__480.png

… I felt so ashamed.

Needless to say…dinner that night was ruined...we ended up eating boiled yam and egg…and my mum made me pick and wash out all the pieces of meat as punishment..

All images source

Written by
@bennyjay

Sort:  

You could actually keep it as a new recipe . lol. Betterleaf stew.

Nah.. not good at all..would be better to actually chew the bitterleaf raw nd fresh than add it to the tomato stew.

😁😂😁😂

Lol....very silly right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71