Selflessness.

in #nigeria6 years ago

image

I get emotional when I think about
My Parents.
They are legit the best thing to ever happen to Me.
Sometimes I just wonder how two people can be as selfless as they are.

Quick Story.

So my mom was in school one day ( she is a teacher)
She saw her colleague with a woman and a girl.

Surprisingly, her colleague called on her to come over and handed over the girl to her to take care of.
Like she didn’t even know them from anywhere.

My mom being who she is didn’t even object as she accepted the girl.
She came home that day with her
and we were wondering “who is this one again” ( there is always somebody to help).
She told my Dad about the girl and he didn’t object too.

This happened 2007.
The little girl of that time still lives
with Us.
We went to the same high school
and university.
She is currently serving too.
You would even think she is my sister.

Moral of the story:

Do what you can do no matter
how small.
You never can tell what that little thing will do in the person’ life.

Don’t do it for a reward.

It saddens me when I see people
do good because of what they stand to gain.

Selflessness means to be concerned more with the needs of others than with one’s own.

Don’t expect to be rewarded for doing good.
Most times your reward might not even come from the person you helped.
Those you do it for might not even appreciate what you do for them.

You do a Black a favor , a White might be the one to repay you.

It’s the irony of Life.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Basic truth all humans should live by. IT's funny some people find it difficult to be selfless. I'll say I understand we all can't be the same but sadly I ca't say "I can relate".

It pays to be selfless and caring and loving and kind and compassionate! Thank you for this :*

Well said.... it pays to be selfless.
Thank you for reading ✌️

Congratulations @ibukun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54