#streetnextturn : Animal Crossing or a Grand Welcome?

in #nigeria6 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_20180123_235047.jpg


A herd of cattle crossing the road was a welcome surprise (to me, at least) immediately we drove out of the Gombe State airport gates. I watched amusingly and with new eyes as each animal sashayed across nibbling occasionally at the ground for some green treat. My impatient driver grumbled something incoherent in Hausa at the passing shepherd.
Truthfully, it felt like a grand welcome to me...I could swear I raised my head and shoulders high a little bit (lol).
Touching down the tarmac about half an hour ago, the plan was to get a 'supposed' luxurious ride to the general park otherwise called bauchi park for another dreadful longer ride to Yola, Adamawa State capital...approximately five hours long!!!


LRM_EXPORT_20180125_074200.jpg


Since sightseeing is one is my best hobbies, I did have a great time as I journeyed through dust filled stretch of uneven long roads dotted with military checks, more cattles, and a lot fuel queues at filling stations (Yes!! The unreasonable price surge of PMS that has left the nation in great unrest), and of course the wonderful people I met-children, grownups, all selling their wares, asking for alms or just minding their business


LRM_EXPORT_20180125_073830.jpg


LRM_EXPORT_20180124_234144.jpg


Surprisingly, I did make it to Yola before dusk, skin covered with a thick layer of dust, but just in time to find a hotel to rest my tired body, soul, bones and mind.


LRM_EXPORT_20180125_093207.jpg


A tiny silly thought crossed my mind as I drifted off to sleep... Did those cows bow to me? (Lol)

**words and photos by me- @mbiedabasi

Sort:  

That was a beautiful photo narration. Those are your herdmen compatriots at the best self. Lol. Gombe seems a nice place to visit. Do I pack my bags? Your storytelling just gets better every day. Keep it coming. Feed Steem with those street efigies and soon the reward gods would come knocking. Big brother is watching ;-)

Wow! Thank you so much @misterakpan for your kind words. Such can make me kill a lion with bare hands and use the meat for 'pepper soup'.

I have an idea. How about you run a street photography themed contest with that #streetnextturn tag? I am going to contribute 5 STEEM to the reward pool as support for the first two episodes. Take me on it. Cheers!

Great idea! Now that I have support, I'll think in those lines. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57