CLARION CALL TO SERVE MY FATHER'S LAND NIGERIA.....FIRST SIX (6) DAYS EXPERIENCE

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180425_062916_873.jpg
IMG_20180425_062432_073.jpg

My great steemian friends , it has being a while I've been here. I have been kept way from this great platform due to preparations made in going to serve my father's land.
Well It's still to my surprise that something can keep me out of the steemit platform for long as this, but despite all odds and hectic activities, I have decided to update you all on the activities happening here in the NYSC camp.
IMG_20180425_073543_299.jpg

The journey to serve my father's land began on the beautiful morning of Monday 9th of March when we were directed to check our portal to know our state of deployment. I was so eager to check it. When I saw that I was posted to Edo state in south-easth of Nigeria. I was a little bit sad because I was not deployed to the state I desired but at the same time I was a little bit satisfied because I was not posted to Northern part of Nigeria which is very far, and not so peaceful.

The second day, I logged unto the internet and made some research on the state of my deployment and I my spirit was lifted with the information I got, and being the fact that it's was an opportunity to meet the people of another tribe and stepping out of my comfort zone , I encouraged myself and started the preparation to embark on the journey to the unknown land.

THE JOURNEY

My only savior during the journey was my phone, powerbank, headphone and bottles of Coca-Cola.
IMG_20180425_061603_909.jpg

I didn't interact with other passengers in the vehicle , I kept to myself, thinking about where I'm going and I was so sad for going far away and for so long from my girlfriend, I don't know when tear rolled down my face from my eyes, I just couldn't help it, as I cried bitterly , the memory of all the lovely moments we had together kept coming and the thought that I won't be seeing her for long while broke my heart.
IMG_20180425_065530_584.jpg

Passing many villages and towns on bumpy roads, made my back and thighs ache from the strenuous journey.
I developed a splitting headache and I could hardly concentrate anymore.

A trill of relief made my soul happy when I saw "WELCOME TO EDO NYSC CAMP, EDO STATE.
IMG_20180425_062007_338.jpg
IMG_20180425_062029_690.jpg

We arrived at the camp at exactly 8pm. The journey from Osogbo Osun State to Edo state had not been a great one for me,but nevertheless we were there.
It was 6hours journey. I was exhausted and I left home without eating any good food.

The fact that I was coming to a place where I won't see my girlfriend or eat my local food for three whole weeks was grazing on my nerves.
What sort of life will it be? So much people i didn't know and a pause to my peaceful, happy life.

My heart was beating heavily as i began to get angry with myself and the commission for posting me here.
"I'm sure it would be such a lonely time for me in camp" I told myself.

BEGINNING OF CAMP LIFE.

The heavy rain beat down on us as we trudged into the camp. Soldiers milled around with their guns and my usual sense of curiosity began to overwhelm me.
Using my luggage to queue for registration processes , i wandered off briefly because the line was very long.

Looking around the camp from the gate, I was expecting something beautiful I guess.
There were beautiful bungalows painted green and yellow, while very long unplastered buildings which I later knew to be the hostels were at the far end of the compound.

IMG_20180425_062457_141.jpg

The parade ground looked so big that it could occupy an entire army for war.
I have heard horror stories of how some were forced to march till the death 💀 on these fields . I shivered and moved on.
I went back for my luggage completed registration and matched in to my given hostel and fell asleep in pain both the physical and emotionally.

Parade Ground

The next day, I woke up feeling a bit better, although my night was restless, as I dreamt about leaving my girlfriend for a long time.
IMG_20180425_071626_809.jpg

It was compulsory to arrive at the parade ground as early as 4:30am and begin marching and other exercises.
We were introduced to the Platoon officials that would be coordinating these exercises .

There are 10 platoons, and I got assigned to the 10th .
We marched for hours before leaving the field.
This activities repeated itself for 3 days till yesterday when we were officially sweard in as NIGERIAN YOUTH SERVICE CORP(NYSC) MEMBERS .

PHOTO GALLERY

IMG_20180425_062029_690.jpg
Screenshot_20180423-132845.png
IMG_20180425_073543_299.jpg
IMG_20180425_062814_704.jpg

The order of the swearing-in ceremony and other activities along with appropriate pictures in camp will be updated soon. I will keep you updated, stay tuned.
@omotara now serving his country!

Sort:  

Hahahahaha.....otondo! Serve well oooo and make sure you bring as many persons as possible to steemit. These corps members like money, so tell them how they can be rewarded for creativity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54