The life of an Introvert

in #nigeria6 years ago

I don’t know about you but I am an excellent conversationalist when I am talking with myself. I have arguments with myself, scold myself, tell myself funny jokes, brainstorm and make great decisions.

tree-3080406_960_720.jpg
https://pixabay.com/en/tree-swing-lady-woman-girl-3080406/

People who don’t know me, assume that I am an extrovert. When I meet people I am pretty bubbly and warm and I like to have interesting conversations. However, they are quite surprised when I describe myself as an introvert. To this day, people don’t believe me because they only see the external me. They see that my smile is always the biggest and my laugh is always the loudest. They do not understand all this a front. They do not understand that the person within does not want to be there. They do not understand that all I want to do is to sit in the corner and to be by myself. Better still, I would love to walk out that door, away from all the chatter, away from all the noise, away from all the draining energy of being around people. As I smile at one more person and laugh at one more joke, I feel the bars in my battery depleting, 80%, 60%, 40%, 20%, I am now in Low Power Mode. My energy has hit reserve. I have to find a power source and recharge before I completely burn out.

technology-2752109_960_720.jpg
https://pixabay.com/en/technology-digital-online-hand-2752109/

I look up, my eyes searching for the nearest exit. Pulling myself gently away from the crowd, I walk fast, taking big steps. My freedom is near, I can feel it, I can smell it, I can see it. Alas! I am free! Free from the bondage of society, free from meaningless chit chat. I am free to be myself without fear of being judged. I like my freedom. It is a shame it won’t last very long. When tomorrow calls, I have to put on my boots and start all over.

The life of an Introvert.

“An introvert is a person who gains energy from being alone and loses energy in stimulating environments, such as social events.”
Source https://introvertspring.com/what-is-an-introvert/

Sort:  

I don’t know about you but I am an excellent conversationalist when I am talking with myself. I have arguments with myself, scold myself, tell myself funny jokes, brainstorm and make great decisions.

I find this very funny because I do it myself a lot of times most especially when having my shower. It's good to see that I am not alone in this world. It must be quite hard for you getting to adjust and chat with people when all you want is to be by yourself.
I consider myself as someone with an Ambivert personality.

Ambivert: Someone who exhibits qualities of both introversion and extroversion.

Depending on my mood I can be both. Sometimes I have to be around certain kind of people to get my energy. There are sometimes where I want to be all by myself and be alone to gain back my energy. To be honest I am still studying myself to know my default personality but trends from the past show that I am a combination of both.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63