My SARS experience

in #nigeria6 years ago

image.jpeg

Just read @ejemai 's post titled "When it's a crime to be innovative and young" and I could not stop to think about the cruelty of the Nigerian police at large especially the SARS (Special Anti Robbery Squad). I have read of the pains and torture and extortion dashed out to the Nigerian population.

I share my story so that we all get to be aware of our environment and make a conscious effort speak out against this misuse of power and oppression of the average Nigerian Citizen.

I was travelling to visit my cousin and his family who reside in Ilorin and also attend a friend's wedding. It was my leave period in the office and I was determined to make the most of it by travelling to at least three states in Nigera, my hopes were shattered when we got to the Ogbomosho- Ilorin bypass and got to the check point manned buy SARS operatives of the Nigerian police.
They stopped the bus ordered everyone to get down, we did with trembling and gnashing of teeth as the spoke with deep commanding tones in their voice and their loaded AK riffles that had the safety off...

We were asked to all bring out our travelling bags and a means of identification which we all did... Unfortunately, I was the only single young youth that wasn't a student so I was an easy target...
image.jpeg

I was asked a series of questions like why I was visiting Ilorin, what I did for a living and why I did not have a smart phone (I had no smart phone because it was stolen a few weeks to my travel date... Story for another day), I told them it was stolen and then that was made my offence.
They asked me to bring down the rest of my belongings and ordered the driver to continue the journey without me...

I was furious and at the same time confused and scared coz I was in the middle of nowhere, with 5 strange men who looked trigger happy and there and then I started to think up the worst possible likely event; and I shit you not, it was really really UGLY! Suddenly the Yoruba boy in me started to cry out "ha! Temi ba mi" (meaning My own has met me or I'm done for, depending on how you wanna interpret it)
Luckily for me, on of them was a Yoruba man and heard me cry out so he decided "help" me out he told me the since we were kins men, he would talk to his colleagues... To cut the story short I coughed out some money and they gave me a ride to town... The guy also
image.jpeg

Please you could also share your experience for others to learn from...

While you at it, kindly follow, up vote, resteem and tell others to do the same...

Image source: www.google.co.uk

Sort:  

nice work boss .....we really need transformation in this country, this sars menace is too much

Thank you sir really appreciate

Congratulations @the-cynosure! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79