You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you reckon I should reward the Ninja Warrior community?

I think a two tiered approach would be best. People come, they join up, sign up etc as if it were a standard site. They can interact, upvote, comment and post.
After they've thoroughly learned the architecture of the site; you may require a certain number of posts, or a certain number of sponsors, etc; you can run them through an obstacle course that teaches them everything they need to know to get set up so that their interactions on your condenser start flowing through to the chain, and the upvotes they dish out and receive have actual value.
Just have two different font colours. After people are comfortable on the site, made some friends and want to take things further, they'll start asking questions and be directed to the longer, more involved process.
That's my instinct based on what you've laid out.

Sort:  

Thanks Mr Clarke, I like that idea a lot... it really does take the stress out of that initial learning curve that could be too big to overcome... the influencers and trendsetters in the community all know each other, so it'll either have everyone or no one. I was lucky with my Wordpress site, I was up and running before mania hit...

The second part of my question was whether Steem is an appropriate reward mechanism... I feel a lot less stressed about this now that you've suggested a clearer path... but do you think it's good enough, or should I try and build this with SMT or other in mind?

Thanks so much for your reply! It has seriously helped a lot.

If posts and comments are visible in other condensers, that could pose difficulties, since I might be on steempeak, and only see half of a conversation that happened between one of your green members, and one of your gold members; but if conversations aren't visible on other condensers, then you'll need to be the source of either your SMTs or the upvotes to reward your members, since steemsters are unlikely to visit your site specifically.
I think perhaps sponsorship might be the key here; perhaps even naming rights to the site or the SMT. Are there brands looking to present themselves as riding the cutting edge of technology and fitness? Even $50,000, (which is nothing to them); could kickstart the operation, particularly while Steem is cheap.

Hmm, I hadn't considered that... I guess I have 3 options in mind:

  • Not worry about it... and just mention at the end of each post that all comments are visible using my front end. At least anyone using Busy or Steempeak would have a logon to my front end.
  • Make replying to other people's comments a gold service only. This might be too annoying or frustrating to my userbase though. I would assume initially, my userbase might be something like 95% green.
  • Post green posts and/or comments from an admin account to the blockchain... with some text like "This was posted by user blah on frontend blah". My community all know each other... they can be a chatty bunch.

Some of the events and competitions have some serious venture capital behind them, so maybe I could find a sponsor. I've got a couple of ins at Nike, who I'm sure are super annoyed that all the profesh ninjas all wear New Balance on the most popular reality TV show in the US.

Just to be clear... the 50k sponsorship would go into purchasing stake in the Steem blockchain for upvotes?

You've definitely given me a lot to think about. Thanks dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89