You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you reckon I should reward the Ninja Warrior community?

Lots to think about here! First off it's awesome you want to/plan to create a platform for NinjaWarrior. I can help 👊.

Honestly I think the first hurdle is not to worry about the rewards. If the only reason people are using the platform is because they get a few dollars in rewards it is not going to be sustainable. That said rewards can help bootstrap a community - users come for the dollar but stay for the connections. With that in mind the focus should be about creating a great platform/community first - deal with the blockchain and rewards later.

The problem is that the reward pool is simply not big. At current prices ($118M x 9% Inflation - 75% to reward pool - $8M) 8M USD is the total paid out to all users in a year, app/business are also trying to use this as their income through beneficiarys/curation rewards - it's just not enough to support X amount of apps and users IMO. Obviously there is a sentiment that this will rise but still...

Getting steeminc delegation or large community sponsorship would allow you to distribute rewards and help bootstrap the community but to make a sustainable business I feel it needs an extra way to inject value. SteemMonsters is the best example we have right now.

My approach would be -

  • Value first - become THE place for Ninja training/ news/ whos who
  • Community features - share/document training (regardless of STEEM rewards)
  • Ask for $ early (external sponsorship or users pay for exclusive content )
  • Reinvest and try to bootstrap stake. Then start thinking about how to utilise STEEM to encourage usage.

🤷‍♂️ Been round in circle on these type of ideas myself so happy to chat but still not 100% on what the best action is.

Sort:  

Thanks dude!

I basically want to get a basic front end up and running... then open source it for Utopian fun, and then offer Fiat to devs to help out. I really want to be able to understand all the code in the system so I'm not reliant on anyone else for time-critical support.

I completely agree with everything you've said... and want to confirm that while Steemhunt, Dtube, etc all entice existing Steemians to use their Dapp, I'd be going the exact opposite way by bringing a lot of new content creators to the blockchain... and I'd expect their rewards to be absolutely dismally minimal... so yes to your calculations, and almost none of the 8M would find it's way to my users... except for the occasional curie or welcoming vote.

On that note, I'm also not sure I could offer anything to delegators... and so wouldn't expect anything from the blockchain in that regard. Alternatively though, I do feel confident I could muster up some external sponsorship - it's a huge industry and there are lots of people making money from their gyms, competitions, etc. The space has yet to become too crowded with options. Exclusive content should be really easy to sell... and I really do believe that becoming THE place for Ninja Training won't be too hard at all. I've already got a fair network and personal contacts.. and as I mentioned, I don't believe I'd have any competition in this space.... yet.

I actually really like your idea of just thinking about the rewards later. I didn't want to design anything that might handicap me later, and maybe I can just build it, bring them across from Instagram, delight them with the content and community and then try and transition them to the blockchain... by which point I might have some stake myself or have found some investors/sponsors that like what I'm doing.

Thanks again mate!

Hey @aussieninja hey bro I really like this idea. I'm not much of a ninja myself but I still like to think I can pull off a mean handstand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85