You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bid-bot thoughts, just my view.

in #nobidbot6 years ago

Your posts always get me thinking - and what you did - using bidbots to get 500SP makes sense to me - if you don't have 500sp here you are pond scum...

I have set up a second acccount to test some things - including bidbots, and wanting to see what it's like to be plankton was inspired by you

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@frot/introduce-yourself-to-www-frot-co-nz

Sort:  

My 500SP level was reached by buying 500 steem on openledger. Not counting Steem Dollars and the steem part of my rewards, the investment was paying approximately 6%-7% ROI when last checked. Voting Bots are devaluing all forms of investment on the platform, in my opinion.

There is one small problem with your "test bed", people do know you, new users do not, in most cases, get a payot of over $2.00 on each of their first two post no matter how good of a post they have. A new user can not in reality give themselves an upvote that will be paid unless someone else has already voted on their post and raised it above the dustvote level.

There are things you can not unlearn for your test. Such as tags like #teamnz, most new users are not going to know that tag is even out there. A noble effort but will anything really be learned? For a real testbed look at the introduceyourself tag, pick a person and closely follow the trail they try to blaze along the way, to obtaining some success on steemit. You don't need to interact or intervene just watch them on a daily basis, if you learn something from them in 3 months then let them know, give them a thank you, and maybe a small gift. I think you would learn more by doing that than this no-bid bot experiment.

Just a thought, and my observation. A diligent quality poster can get to 500SP in 5-6 months without bid bots. A super quality poster can get to a Natural 64 Rep level in about 10 months, with 2267SP of their own. People can say those two got lucky, but the fact is they both have quality post, and worked their asses off, and learned the system.

True - I can't unlearn two years on Steemit, but I have already learned some stuff from this experiment - starting out is different now, but not totally - some people are really good at this but most people are utter crap - @deliberator is doing it really well!

I agree, there is a lot of utter crap out there, I am not so much a content provider for people, just mostly the contest I enter and try to have fun in, but I do see a whole lot of bad, but I also see some good stuff. Not all the bad is from new users either, or low reputation users. If I were to rate my posting on a scale of 1-10 I would see it as a 4. Mostly game/contest content, some picture content, and the rest, well irritated postings, so slightly on the shit post side when it comes to providing content for other people's enjoyment. I might go as high as a 5.5, but it would be a close call. But like I said, I'm not a content producer, yet. But I am still learning to be a blogger, only been at it 10 months.

Hell - I've only been at it 20 years :)

https://web.archive.org/web/*/www.frot.co.nz

Oh that is superb, I shall watch with interest, as even $100 plus posts on here now bring such little return in sp that it takes simply months to achieve now. I shall watch this with interest, as now you will know what it is like "now" as opposed to "before" and I wish more old heads would try that experiment.
Have a superb week.

When I was starting out one of my first posts scored a $400 payout. Awesome!

But 50 of them earned less than $1

Then I bought Bitcoins for $1000 and sold them for $17 000 less than a year later

Will opportunities like that happen again? - I have no idea, but right now I'd say not at the moment..

Wow nice score on 2 fronts, I bet that one $400 post got you the slider with the payouts back then yes? well it would not now lol. And the btc trade, well nice one on that, you got to be in it to win it.

Though in saying that I never do the lottery here as I would not be allowed to claim it.

And then I thought about my stupidity and realised the mrs can claim any winnings, boom, the Euro jackpot is at 385.000.000 millions of the damn things.

P1110256.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98