You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mobile Phone as my Primary Computer

in #nomad6 years ago

I'm doing the same. I like that I can walk around the city using different apps. If I see something interesting snap a photo.

I've been walking around using my phone for over 5 hours sometimes. Been doing it for years, when I'm in a walkable city that is. Use to be audiobooks. Just walk around listening to interesting topics for hours. Stop in best spots for a snack and joint.

Sort:  

Ya, smartphones really do have the potential to add a lot to our lives. I do worry about the invasion of privacy they currently bring with them, and the potential for addiction, but I suspect we can get through all that.

Agree, had a point a year or two ago where I really cut back.

I think notification management is a good thing if you're disciplined. For example not getting push notifications for Messanger and just checking manually every once in a while.

Lately I'm not doing that, I just love using my phone lately and with Steem and trading on Binance app I can actually have my phone as a mobile work station. (at least for most things non-programming)

Notification management has been key for me, it's so distracting.

I actually just signed up on Binance a few minutes ago. Seems much easier to get an account than other places. First impression is that the UI is slick. We'll see how it goes when I actually start making trades. Another good topic for a Speak Freely TV episode.

That could be interesting. If we need to be in a common room on Discord you should join the one for https://dngo.io

https://discord.gg/z5FAHH

They want to make a platform where people get rewarded for recording public domain audio-books.

@kirkins#2351

I joined the group but still can't find you.

Cool project idea though! Have you recorded a book?

No I always wanted to do it for Librivox, so this will definitely add to my motivation. Not sure what book I would do yet.

Is there a list somewhere of books people want?

I think you have to go to https://Gutenberg.org pick a book, then check if that book exists on librivox.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89