You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mobile Phone as my Primary Computer

in #nomad6 years ago

I'd like to be able to do something similar. It's nice as you don't need a power inverter, can use a much cheaper dc/dc converter to get the 5V USB voltage. I need a bigger screen though to effectively work on software. Too bad the Ubuntu phone never worked out. That would have been nice.

Sort:  

Ya, I was disappointed that the Ubuntu phone fell through. I plan to covert to the CopperheadOS rom eventually so there's no proprietary Google software on the device.

Power is definitely a big win. I have a little foldable solar panel that fits in my backpack which can keep everything charged.

I bought a USB-C monitor a while ago because I thought my phone could display through it. Sadly they decided not to support that for some reason so I had to return it... maybe someday?

I've been writing HTML, CSS and Javascript on the phone with no issues, though I suppose it's probably more difficult with serious software. Might be hard to find good compilers too.

Hmm, didn't even know there were USB-C monitors. I could always use the phone as a thin client and remote into a development linux box with all the tools on it.

That's why I initially decided to rent a dedicated server, but I ended up using it as an IPFS gateway instead to pin content like DTube videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89