How Steemit is Pushing my Boundaries - Poetry

in #noncomfortzone6 years ago (edited)

So the lovely @katrina-ariel has nominated me for the #nocomfortzone challenge started by @topkpop. You can see the original post here

I like this one a lot. It's easy for us to write about the things that come naturally to us, or share photos of the things we do regularly and do well. But it's an entirely different thing to put ourselves out there in places we don't feel we shine, or in places we don't necessarily fit in, or sharing things that make us feel vulnerable.

life-3089646_960_720.jpg image source

I had to think about this one a bit. In general, I'm a pretty confident person. I'm not shy, I can do crowds or public speaking, I have challenged myself physically in the past. Then I remembered something I did on Steemit not that long ago. With a little push from the amazing @thekittygirl, I posted a tidbit of poetry.

I am in no way a poet. I dabble here and there with word combinations. There will be a phrase that pops in my head that I like (mostly phonetically) so I jot it down and will write a little poem around it. There's usually no specific meaning or agenda. I like the way something sounds, so I create a little meaning (usually pretty abstract) around it. I do it for myself, not for recognition or a hope of someday being published. Just one of the ways I pass the time and entertain myself.

Until Recently I Have Never (Not Once) Shared a Word of It

So it was a pretty big moment for me to post the first one. I was uncomfortable. I felt vulnerable and exposed. I hit refresh like a million times just waiting for the negativity to flow in. And you know what? I survived. So I did it again today in honor of this challenge.

You can check them out if you'd like. It makes me uncomfortable. But isn't that the point?

Barfly
Blunt Device

I think how it works is I now have to nominate somebody else to do this. @thekittygirl and @kerlund74 - you're up ladies, if you choose to participate.

Sort:  

To really grasp what you're saying I had to check your previous post which I found interesting, I believe you should give it a try couple with the fact that you sound like an introvert, whom are going to be very knowledgeable and intelligent.

Thanks. I’m really not an introvert at all. Just not comfortable sharing poetry for some reason

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68918.37
ETH 3764.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43