Thoughts and actions

in #nonfiction6 years ago

I don't know about you but lately i have noticed that my thoughts and actions are very different.
It is not as if i am two faced, but what i think i feel and how i react are two opposite things.
We all think we have a stance on social issues i.e abortion, domestic violence, child abuse etc , but how do we react to the subtle ones around us?
A cousin of mine came to live with me and i saw myself slowly turning into a child abuser, justifying me beating her, yes this girl was annoying but i was allowing her to turn me into someone i never thought I would ever be.
Which made me realise we all have the capacity to do evil , something we tend to ignore because we all want to believe we are good people.
Just like in the office where everyone decries corruption but still look for ways to chop money, or the woman commenting on the libya slvery but has a 7 year old maid at home. How do we reconcile our thoughts to our actions?
I would like to know.

Sort:  

Hmmmm, very thought provoking. I almost cried yesterday when I lost a baby due to inefficiency of a nurse. But eventually I had to come to the reality that I am also to be blamed because assuming there was a doctor on duty overnight, maybe we might have been able to save the baby. I mean, I delivered my son around 2am in a hospital where there was a call doctor, I am now subjecting others to be delivered by a nurse. Is that not the height of hypocrisy? Don't get me wrong I respect nurses a lot because I have learnt a lot from them, but if I am trying to justify an avoidable occurrence due to an incompetent nurse, then I should also take part, if not all of the blame.
So, my dear a lot of times we don't practice what we preach and like you said we are all capable of evil.

Don't beat yourself up about it. It is well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50