Learning to use Lee filters for photo shooting - part 2

in #norway6 years ago

Hi.
Today I am coming with a follow up to my Lee filter post.
As I mentioned in the last post I have been so lucky and got my hands on a Lee Seven5 system graduated filters for photoshooting.
I am going to make a series of post during 2018 of my experience of these.

(This time I have not take the pictures in the post because the need to show the filters in proper way)

Here you can see a camera set up with Lee filter

lee bilde 1.jpg

This time I am not going to present any pictures that I have taken, but try to explain how and why these filters are a good investment if you want your pictures to "stand" out from others.

The Lee filters are often found in a photographer`s bag, especially if he are doing a lot of landscape pictures.
When you are going to take pictures on a bright sun day, you can attach these filters infront of your lense and in that way get control of the light.
One example are a graduated filter that make you blend down the sky, while the ground stays in the same light as it is when you are taking the picture.

Here you see a hard and soft graded filter

lee 2.jpg

With the filters above you can dim down the light from the sky, in this way you will be able to see more of the clouds and the pictures won't get "burned out" with a totally white sky.
If you are near the see or you have a good defined horizon you can use the hard graded because you often get a skyline that has a strait and clear line.
If you are in the forrest and the trees are stretching up in the clouds you can use a soft grade filter so they dont get to dark.

You also have filters that block most of all the light that goes true your lens

lee 3.jpg

In addition to the graduated filters you have filters that block most of the light that goes true your lense.
This filters are used to clear out different movements in the picture and in this way you can get for example a cloud or dreamy see or a water fall.
As you can see in the picture below, not taken by me, the sea looks almost blurred out.

lee 4.jpg

From now on I will come with a little tip or explanation to the pictures I take and try to telle you how the pictures come to bee.
If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Until next time, stay safe, warm and dry!

Kindest regards
@Gyldenhorn

Sort:  

Wow interesting
Beautiful .. well done. I liked the picture
Thank you for sharing that with us‏.

Meget interessant. Regner med at en får bedre effekt av å gjøre det idet bildet blir tatt, istedenfor å bruke Lightroom til å få fram litt av den samme effekten fra raw filene?
Kanskje du kunne prøvd å hatt kameraet på et stativ, så tar du først 1 bilde med filteret, så 1 uten filteret, for deretter å prøve å lage til samme effekten i Lightroom? Hadde vært interessant å se hvordan blir resultatene da.

Hei @Svein
Effekten av å bruke Lee filter gjør at du "ferdistiller" bilde mye mer når du er ute.
Skal teste ut å ta ett bilde uten filter og ett med for å se hva jeg får til ved kun å redigere bilde i Lightroom, men tviler på at det blir noe i nærheten av å bruke filter.
Skal lage en egen post om dette i del 3 eller 4 så takk for tipset :)

Mvh
@Gyldenhorn

Ja, skjønner at det er bedre å bli "ferdig" med bildet på stedet, men bare tenkte på hvor lik effekt man kan klare å få med Lightroom, i forhold til "the real deal". Gleder meg til å se testen :)

Tommel opp

Å gjøre skylaget mørkere i Lightroom kan introdusere noe støy i skyggene. Og dersom du eksponerer for bakke og himmel blir utbrendt, kan du ikke redde det i Lightroom.

Absolutely perfect stuff, keep it continue. Watch my Latest Videos About health on Dtube.


You will have too take me with you next time you’re going out to take pic’s

Sure @Everydaycoach
Think it will be a trip during this week to Hvaler to trie to catch some light. If you are free it is just to come along :)

Kindest regards
@Gyldenhorn

Sounds good:-)

Dette var artig å lære om, @gyldenhorn!

From now on I will come with a little tip or explanation to the pictures I take and try to telle you how the pictures come to bee.

Det høres veldig bra ut! På denne måten kan vi andre lære litt av deg istedenfor å bare se hvor gode bilder du tar ;)

Hilsen @valth

Takker for det @Valth

Skal bli bedre på å dokumentere bildene når jeg skriver Lee poster :)
Håper jeg rekker en liten tur ut i løpet av uka :)

Mvh
@Gyldenhorn

Det er bra! Personlig liker jeg veldig godt sånne "historien bak bildet"-poster, ettersom jeg ønsker å lære mer om fotografering, så ser frem til dette :)

Da skal jeg ikke skuffe deg :)

I love my Lee filters! Two graduated neutral density filters and a polarizer is usually how I shoot my lake photos these days. Nice photos on your part 1 post! Happy shooting!

Hello @Scottshots
Thx for your feedback. This is my first time trying out Lee filters. I have doen most macro photo before, but now I have been addicted to landscape so these filters will come in handy :)
I have been looking at your profile also and must say that I love your shots.
Lake Tahoe seems like a really nice place to get some great photo opportunities. Maybe I have to go there on my next trip to the US.

Kindest regards
@Gyldenhorn

No problem. Lake Tahoe is awesome for photography, tons of opportunities. I've lived up here for 15 years and I'm still finding out about cool local areas I haven't been to. So I just noticed your filter holder... Lee also makes a filter holder that has a threaded front so you can screw on a polarizing filter. If you can get your hands on one of those, I would highly recommend it. You can balance out the sky's light with the foreground, and at the same time you can cut through the glare on a lake's surface. It makes for some really fun photos. Happy shooting, cheers!

awesome photografhy shooting bro nice picture.☺

A good graduated filter is a must have for anyone that wants to take silky-smooth water photos. This is a helpful post!

That's right @realworldeats I totally agree with you 👌👌

That looks like a fancy camera.

Those filters are very useful! Very good info! Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92