You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easter Holiday At Crypto Retreat In Norway - Giving Zero Fucks About Cryptos.

in #norway6 years ago

Yeah. My mobile internet quota for the month is used up, and I'm shocked to learn that the provider just cuts access to Internet instantly when the quota is used up, and that there is no way to increase the limit unless one has the payment solution Vipps® installed on the phone and registered on the same telephone number - which, for different reasons, is impossible to achieve for me. And tomorrow morning we'll go skiing for several days. Perhaps I should just accept the fate that I will be offline, unable to do any crypto trading on the go.

Sort:  

Or perhaps this is a sign to look for another provider. It was the case with me.

If it was possible to change the provider (while still keeping the same number) the same day, I would have done that. I probably should have spent some time investigating if it was possible to buy a new sim card.

My employer pays the bill and they have chosen this provider. If I choose another provider, it will cause more paperwork to get the bills refunded, and I absolutely hate such paperwork, so I will rather ask my employer to raise the quota and be more observant on the "consumption" and threshold warnings in the future. I could probably have gotten the quota instantly increased if Wednesday had been a completely ordinary working day and I'd been in the office.

Yeah..I've decided to hodl no matter what. I own some of the best cryptos there is..so I just ask myself; Do I beleive in the future of cryptos? Yes. So what can I do right now? Just close my eyes and wait.

It's a bit different with me though, when I'm lucky and the traffic is good I can flip coins over with a reasonable commission, meaning I can earn money simply by being online and handle requests.

How does that work? :)

I'm a market maker for local cash- and bank transfers, most of the traffic comes from Localbitcoins. People are willing to pay some percent premium for being able to convert quickly from fiat to crypto and vice versa.

On bad days everyone is buying, and the coin value increases much faster than my commission before I'm able to restock my crypto holdings - or worse, everyone is selling, and the coin value drops much faster than my commissions. Sometimes the opposite happens, good for me, bad for my customers. On good days the price is stable and there are customers both buying and selling.

If it is you business then you should have a backup plan and two providers.

I do have a day-job, this is "just" a hobby, even though it probably earns me more than my regular salary.

If it was my business, I'd automate things a lot more, there is just no justification for doing manual work when it comes to the most ordinary banking bitcoin trades. One of the problems is that it's very hard to get a business banking account for such a purpose. I'm a bit involved in a startup trying to put up a domestic trading platform, but they still haven't managed to get any banking account for this purpose. Ordinary private citizens have a bit more rights, but it's a fine line, some of the banks are now throwing out customers doing crypto trading on a regular basis.

That said, my intention is to always have a working backup telephone, so I can quickly resume using the same mobile wallets, google auth, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86