Two Songs That Move Me

in #nostalgia5 years ago

The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow

Bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow there'll be sun




IMG_2961.jpg


Growing up I watched some strange films for a child; Doctor Zhivago, The Ten Commandments, The Wilby Conspiracy 🤷🏾‍♂️

Funny thing is, I remember really loving those films. I think there just wasn't much choice, so I just watched what was available. Thankfully I also had the great classics; The Sound Of Music and Annie.

If you ask me, neither of those films are for children either. Having watched them both as an adult, I'm shocked kids are allowed to watch them at all! The storylines are very grown up, and very serious.

I feel that back in those days, much more was demanded of actors/actresses. They not only had to be unbelievable at acting, they were required to also sing, dance and be physically attractive. They surely don't make them like that anymore.

One thing that sticks to the mind as a child, and stays with you all your life, is music. I still remember all the songs from both films, almost word-for-word after all this time. There are two songs - one from each film - that I can never forget. They were not the "main" theme songs everyone remembers, but for me they were so powerful that they still affect me today when I hear them.

The Sound Of Music: Climb Every Mountain

Unbelievable! Of course I didn't understand what the heck was going on here when I first saw this at the age of 3. As I grew up, however, I probably watched this every year and I understood it and more. The funny thing is, each year I thought a different Von Trapp girl was cute, until, finally - Maria.

Would you believe that while I was writing this, and googling to grab a link to the song, did I learn that the Von Trapp singers were real? 🤯


Annie: Tomorrow

Again, I had no idea what she was going on about at the time. The idea that a president and a billionaire can draw inspiration from the simple clear-minded optimism of an innocent child. A child that had no reason to be optimistic, but was optimistic nonetheless. [Song starts at 1:33]

Perhaps of contemporary significance is the fact that these are American Republicans and Democrats singing together :) - opposite ends of the political spectrum. Rather apt for this present day don't you think?


What songs/films do you remember from your childhood that are still significant to you today?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

'The man who sold the world' was the song that changed my life as it now in a way and I was 15 when it happened.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no idea what that song is :) I'm going to check it out.

so much revealed on the Annie scene... "leaping lizards"... those in the know will know

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh.. nice one hahah. I didn't even think that way :)

Soooo many movies changed my life... some are family movies, some I probably shouldn't have been allowed to watch as a child. I love both these movies you mentioned personally... and I hope you've seen the newer Annie because it's awesome!

The family movies : Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (watched this sooo much, inventor with a flying car, come on!), Lion King (Remember who you are), Pocahontas (she's totally my soul sister, I think), Casper (this one gets to me so much, don't ask me why), Little Rascals (one of my absolute faves), E.T. obvs, and so much more!

Now for the less family friendly movies I watched as a child: Easy Rider (possibly why I became so interested in bikes and UFOs as an adult, great film though), Chucky (Not a movie I should have been allowed to watch at 7/8 years old, but potentially why I had a massive fascination with horror films as a teen).. God how did this suddenly become a mini post. I should stop here. Movies though, I love movies, so maybe that's why ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

That's quite a list @redrica I've seen some of them but not most haha.

music can stick on memories. usually when music is playing brain save de experience with the music background...

that is why I recomend studying with music, when you forget what you studied, you can play the music you used and remember !!

haha. Yes you're right. It's why nursery rhymes work so well for children to learn. You never forget that stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87