Now Playing: Week #21 - Tattoo : Siouxsie & The Banshees

in #nowplaying6 years ago

Tattoo : Siouxsie & The Banshees

I've been listening to a lot of this band lately. I love all they did to experiment with sound. Description of this song from Wikipedia...

During this era, the band experimented with other ways of recording and orchestration when they were in the studio to record extra-tracks for their singles. For "Tattoo", producer Mike Hedges made them use the mixing desk as an instrument. With his assistance, they recorded a track with whispered voices, droning bass lines and slow drum beats. The result was spooky and atmospheric.

"Tattoo" is considered to be a proto trip hop track which helped Tricky when he shaped his style. This film noir is often cited as inspirational in the development of the trip hop genre. "Tattoo" was covered by Tricky in 1996 as the opening number of his second album, Nearly God.

The Tricky version, for anyone curious.

Sort:  

Great entry, I'd almost fogotten them both, many thanks for taking them out of my records ;)

You're welcome. That's great. I love when someone reminds me of something good, but long forgotten. There's a lot of music that fits that category, too much.

This song just totally grabbed my attention and put me in a different space. Truly incredible stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66