Now Playing Week 14 - Fretblanket and The Candyskins

in #nowplaying6 years ago (edited)

I am taking a trip down memory lane this week and listening to some obscure bands from the 90's that I discovered from a little service called Rock Video Monthly. I, myself, only own one copy that I got from my stepfather. It was the April 1995 issue and I am going to share one of my favorite songs on that tape. This post is going to take a bit longer to work up because the first song I will be sharing is apparently so obscure that I have not been able to find the lyrics on google to save my life... Google lyrics are usually wrong anyway, so I will give it my best shot!! Also, I will be sharing two songs from each band this week.

First up: Fretblanket - Direct Approach
Fretblanket was a British band from Stourbridge, UK. They released their first album "Junkfuel" In 1994 (which this song is featured on). The song Direct Approach was also featured on the April 1995 issue of Rock Video Monthly (Alternative). You can find more information about the band (though not much is listed) here

Lyrics:

Why are we standing on the corner?
What are we achieving?
We're covered in candy. My eardrums are bleeding.

We taste so sweet, I'm out of my head.
We taste so sweet, I'm out of my head.

Let me get the message.
Give me a clue.
Surely I don't understand. Just what's my point of view?

We taste so sweet...

Suppose that I'm an angel.
Suppose that you're a beast!
Suppose that I say, straight up, I'm falling at your feet!

We taste so sweet, I'm out of my head.
We taste so sweet, I'm out of my head.

Why is it, do you suppose
That you'd cut off your face despite your nose
When I keep telling you it shows...

We taste so sweet...
Taste so sweet...

But it's over now. Here are your tools. Go finish the job.
It's over to you to stop me from starting.
Is fucking up the system really worth it?
Cuz it means nothing to me
Nothing to me
Nothing to me
Nothing at all!
Nothing at all!
Nothing at all!

Next up: Fretblanket - Into the Ocean
This song was featured on Fretblanket's second and final album "Home Truths From Abroad" released in 1997. As sited from the source above, this particular song was the "highest-rated video ever on MTV's "12 Angry Viewers". I really enjoy this with both choppy rockness and melodic melodies and wanted to showcase a second song from this not-so-well-known band.

Lyrics:

Walk with me into the ocean
Plenty more fish in the sea
Fill your tired lungs with the water
Floating in the aquamarine

Watch me as I enter the whirlpool
Sailing on the deep sea swell
Pass the time of day with the pondlife
They have their opinions as well

Swimming through my days in the water
Water pick these old bones clean
Bury me deep in the sea floor
Another making waves machine

Losing track, sinking back

So long - I'm gone
So long - I'm gone - yeah!

Swimming with the tide in the gulf stream
Cruise the north Atlantic drift
Floating on your back in the starlight
Breathing in the ocean's mist

Falling as the water protects you
Sleeping on your own sea bed
Everything you wanted has left you
And everything you live for is dead

Losing track, sinking back

So long - I'm gone
So long - I'm gone

I could wait and catch a wave if I wanted to be saved
Ride the southwest wind to shore, or dig my heels in ocean floor
Though I may have lost some strength I could show my face again
But I've made this place my home, and I'm much safer on my own

And no-one's gonna find me here...
And no-one's gonna find me here...

I could wait and catch a wave if I had wanted to be saved ride the south west
Wind to shore -
I could walk the golden mile with a sorry sort of smile or dig
My heels in the ocean floor -
Though I may have lost some strength I could
Have shown my face again but I've made this place my home -
And you've broken Me in two and I just don't know what I'd do and I'm much safer here on my
Own...

So long - I'm gone

Second band: The Candyskins - Car Crash
The Candyskins were a band from Oxford, England. This song was featured on their album "Sunday Morning Fever" released in 1997. This particular song is just really pretty and the lyrics really speak to me. I enjoy listening to it a lot and wanted to share! More about this band can be found here

Lyrics:

Had a friend;
Wouldn't say a good friend.
Just someone like me;
A little nervous, never easy to please
But stupid enough to stay happy.

Had a life;
Couldn't get a good one.
You know what they cost.
You learn a thing or two about getting lost
When nobody's trying to find you.

These things we do
Just start to crack
And I don't know why

Ooh, it's like a car crash
Ooh, just like a car crash

I had a friend,
But I didn't even notice
When he started to change.
He went from talkative to silent and strange.
Stuck in his own inner traffic.

Got a life;
It doesn't really thrill me.
You do what you can.
It gets uncomfortable, you move it around,
But sometimes you have to drive 'round it.

These things we do
Just start to crack
And I don't know why

Ooh, it's like a car crash
Ooh, just like a car crash

These things we do
Start to crack
Start to crack
It's like a car crash
Like a car crash
These things we do

And finally: The Candyskins - Wembley
Coming from an earlier album than the previous song, Wembley was released on The Candyskin's album "Fun?" released in 1993. This song was also featured on the June 1994 issue of Rock Video Monthly (Alternative). This was actually shown to me by a dear friend. @melodyrussell's father had a whole bunch of Rock Video Monthly tapes and sometimes I would sit with her siblings and father and we would just listen and sing and learn how to play the songs. This one always stood out to me and I cherished those moments more than I can put into words.

Lyrics:

Here's a song from me to you
I hope you understand me
I can't forget that day we met
I loved you oh-so madly
And all the things I used to do
I gave them up so gladly

Well yes I love you
Well I think I love you
Well let's just say
There's something in your smile

Do you remember getting drunk
On Uncle Derek's brandy
We were sick, yeah we were young
I wanted you so badly

Well yes I love you
Well I think I love you
Well let's just say
There's something in your smile

Well yes I want you
Well I think I want you
Well let's just say
There's something in your smile

Tell me why you spoke to him
You shouldn't be so friendly
My violent temper strikes again
I need you to defend me
It's 1966 again - a love as big as Wembley

Wembley, Tell me!

Well, Yes I love you
And I'v always loved you
Well let's just say
There's something in your smile

Something in your smile
Something in your smile

Well that is it for my Now Playing this week. I am a 90's kid and I love the 90's!!!! Thanks for listening!!!

Sort:  

I've enjoyed a lot your very well worked post. Thank you so much for putting the lyrics. I didn't know them so that's to thank you again, another two gems to my collection ;)

Absolutely! Thank you for listening to some tunes with me!!!

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
If you would like your song added to the weekly spotify playlist, reply to this comment in the following format:

Artist
Song

If you have multiple songs, make multiple replies to this comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68887.40
ETH 3743.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67