Now Playing Week 18 - Days N Daze and William Elliott Whitmore

Hey #nowplaying!!! This week I have been listening to a few different things that I wanted to share with you. The first is something that I am always listening to. The second is a new song I found by an artist I discovered a few years ago through Pandora. Without further ado, let's get this music party started!!!

First up: Days N Daze
Days N Daze is a folk-punk band from Houston, Texas. They are what I like to refer to as gypsy-street-punk... but there are many terms for their style of music. They formed in 2008. There is a lot of interesting information about this band here. I am sharing this song particularly because it is one of my favorites. I was first shown this band by my wonderful friend @melodyrussell. I have since learned how to play this song specifically on guitar and harmonica. I also recommend checking out a side project called Chad Hates George - "Shooting Up, Breaking Down" is a good song by them. This song I am sharing though - really hits home... You never know what you've got 'til it's gone....

Lyrics:

Every second, every minute, every hour, every day
We burden our minds with trivial bullshit, same face a different name
The psycho conversation, stare at the same four walls until the paint chips away

Well, I'm a blind man, searchin' for color in a world that's so long been grey
Well I'm a deaf man, chasin' the echoes of a song that's already been played

If I could talk to my younger self now I'd say,
"Don't take nothin' for granted, kid.
You haven't seen just how bad things can get
And you never know what'cha got 'till it's gone
Never know 'till it's gone..."

Well I could spew some schematic apology
But it wouldn't do no good
The damage is done, so now all we do is run
And pretend our choices haven't killed the best in us

We'll fly a white flag, and both say everything had never meant anything at all
And when I'm not passed out, and I'm really sleepin'
I'm always dreamin' of you

If I could talk to my younger self now I'd say,
"Don't take nothin' for granted, kid
You haven't seen just how bad things can get
And you never know what'cha got 'till it's gone
Never know 'till it's gone..."

Second up: William Elliott Whitmore - Hell or High Water
Just.... Oh my God!!!! This dude's voice - right??? So smoky... So much feel... It was actually interesting for me to find out, upon digging for information, that this guy is from an area I used to live by!!! He hails from around Keokuk, Iowa. I was from the Mount Pleasant/Bonaparte area for much of my childhood. I found this guy by chance listening to Pandora a few years ago. Those are sometimes the best discoveries. His background is really impressive to read - knowing from growing up in that area - and you can learn more about him here. I have been thinking about doing a cover of this song - and like always run it by my boyfriend first to see what he thinks of the song... My boyfriend instantly started to tear up when William Elliott Whitmore started singing. He just IS that good!!! I hope you enjoy!!!

Lyrics:

Smoke em if you got em
Drink your glasses to the bottom
And toast me on another year
Another year of hope
Another year of holdin on
You drinkers by day, and bastards by dawn

And I hope I will see you soon
And Ill be home come hell or high water
And I know i will see you soon

Gather round friends and neighbors
Who make your living by labor
And share with me this little time
This little time that we have left
To have a drink and catch a breath
Well it might just be what saves our lives

And I hope I will see you soon
And Ill be home come hell or high water
And I know i will see you soon

Smoke em if you got em
Drink your glasses to the bottom
And listen to the howling dogs
And oh how it pleases me
To be in such company
And im so glad our paths have crossed

And I hope I will see you soon
And Ill be home come hell or high water
And I know i will see you soon

And Ill be home come hell or high water
And I know i will see you soon

Sort:  

Oh exciting! They have both intrigued me now and I’ll listen to them tomorrow! :)

Reply to my last blog post everytime you make a blog post and I will upvote and resteem it for free to my 36,000+ followers. @a-0-0

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
If you would like your song added to the weekly spotify playlist, reply to this comment in the following format:

Artist
Song

If you have multiple songs, make multiple replies to this comment

Days N Daze
Damaged Goods

William Elliott Whitmore
Hell or High Water

Adding Hell or high water to the weekly playlist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68