Another Day on My New Years Art and Dogs

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Day 2 work on my New Year's piece:

As I shared this sketch yesterday:
jan1thumbnail.jpg
And a couple little moments of playing with it, I knew today I had to keep working on it to try and hone what I hope to do this year.

My original intention was to try and get a piece done each day five days a week, but as I am at first hoping to choose one of my many styles in which to go forward, I thought it best to work again on this piece.

These layers were done over the sketch.

And toying with watercolour and bold line is enjoyable. I love to do such pieces and have had fun and success with them in the past.

As an example here is a French bulldog I did in my 'vintage bowl' series a few years back:

He looked rather good on things as well:

And as part of my focus for this year's resolution is to walk the line between Fine art and Graphic Design, the interplay of watercolour and bold ink lines seems to really appeal to me.

I can see a great series of dog breeds with and without the female form in as a great way to follow this line of creation.

Thus, playing in this vein this morning really felt 'right'. And as I had no preconceived notion of the direction I wanted to take this 'singular' style this year, I just thought I'd play and see what is what.

The decision for my work to include animals and particularly dogs was not a hard part of choosing this year's Art Resolution. This can be evidenced by today's morning ramble to our tea room where in not Only Ivan happily shared the place with us,
jan2ivan.jpg

But two other dogs as well.
jan2dog2.jpg

And this little fellow kept making 'eyes' at Ivan and wagging his tail.

jan2dog1.jpg

It's easy to see that dogs are an easy choice in many decisions for me, even those involving my art.

Well, here we are already into day 2 of a new year. I hope all of you are happily heading into the New Year with hope and joy. I know I was Very happy to have Steemit in my life in 2018 and will surely be glad of it in this year as well.

How has day two of any of your resolutions come along thus far?

Let me know in the comments if you like and please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means leave a comment.

My Previous Post: A New Year and a New Year Art Resolution

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

The color is so romantic. It makes the woman more elegant.

[nTopaz-Curator] Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I can’t wait to see this series develop! I’d love a tote bag, but as I mentioned, shipping to here is astronomical. I was thinking about printing a design onto a tote here - how would I do that? Would I be able to purchase a pdf version? Or? What would you suggest? Hmmm... 🤔

Well, I thought societ6 does do international shipping? If it comes up to be too dear, you could always let me know which piece you'd like and I could see if I could do the shipping, It'd take a bit longer, but I could certainly sell a .png of something you like at high res (even for steemit if you :) ) and just email it to you and then you could get it printed on any of the online places maybe?

We may be getting a parcel from Arizona soon, if we do, I will order to there, and get it posted from there.

If not, I will let you know about the PNG - that may be a good way to get around it xx

oooh I love the French Bulldog, and he works perfectly on that tote bag! Just a few days in to 2019 and you are already super busy, I do like how more places then ever encourage pet owners to bring in their four legged family members, it's always very sad to see them sat dejected tied up outside pining for owners. A local Craft Beer and coffee shop that buys my freshly roasted coffee always has a variety of dogs with owners in, they even have strategic pet bowls so the dogs can stay well watered while their owner s do.

The New Years sketch is looking awesome, loving the pastel shades of colour.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks @c0ff33a I'm really trying some new colour palettes this year.

Yes, I always love this about the UK, the dogs! Everyone has them here in the countryside and Ivan is welcome almost everywhere EXCEPT chain grocery stores which, let's be honest, are just owned by US conglomerates anyway (Asda owned by walmart etc). Certainly France has the UK beat for being dog friendly, but they are starting to really catch up. And I never worry about where to take Ivan most times.

I bet roasting coffee everyday must be a wonderful smelling job. We had a few local roasters when I was younger and at University (I grew up in a University town) and that smell is always so amazing.

Hello Donna, I'm ridiculously absent, resolved to change that now!! Attempt #2 or 3, I forget lol! Anyway, your frenchie is so wonderfully done as is your flapper - your drawing has these moments that just SING!!!! Well done talented woman, keep up the great work.

Enjoy seeing the tea service and tea scene - so very English and lovely.

oh yes, and I forgot to say that your continued presence here is one of the key reasons I keep trying to come back. Truly, thanks for keeping up your valuable content and consistency, it matters and I can vouch for that.

And here I was feeling guilty today that I have not posted, as I awake feeling a bit under the weather today so have been sipping tea and resting in my room today. I hope to be back to speed tomorrow!

Hai Donna!!
Missed your post from yesterday hehe but I like this coloured version of today!
Hope seeing more of these then if you're gonna make more in this fashion 😉
Hugs💙

I really like that blue dog. This year I have to do some animals!

Beautiful 👍🏾

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ivan is super adorable and yes, I can see how dogs would make their way into your artistic muse very naturally <3

Love the colours, Donna :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99