A Witch & her Familiar gathering writing supplies

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A section of my black and white

This piece in my Witch and her familiar series really shows the relationship between the witch and her familiar

oct11cruel.jpg

At first glance one might assume the octopus is her familiar, but on closer inspection we see her trusty cat 'aiding' her in acquiring the tools she needs to write down her magic in the book of Days, her spellbook.

She is getting her fresh supply of ink whilst Puss gets a brand new quill

I have been SO busy of late that I have not had a moment to do any good sketching work sharing. However, this morning, as a storm rages out front, I was going through my black and white's from #inktober and really saw how much work I put into all of these.

I love a theme

It's always been a driving force in my work as the structure of a Narrative with the freedom of a daily interpretation of that works well for me and creativity.

I'll close with a short video of what is raging out front. Yesterday's idyllic day of sun and warmth, it was like a Summer day, is replaced today with cold and a strong Wind and waves.

Yesterday was calm and lovely, here is the sun streaming in at mum's kitchen:
20190414_102248.jpg

And today a storm rages out front. They say April Showers bring may flowers, well, we shall have an amazing amount of flowers this year considering the amount of rain we have been getting.

I hope your day is either filled with sun or if rain, then I wish you cozy fire and corner to curl up and read and dream.

As always, if you feel so inclined, upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.

My Previous Post: A black and white from my Witch Series

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


![asteemitfooter.jpg]

Sort:  

Ooh this witch got fresh ink from the great provider itself ! ^_^ How original !
So you are in the UK , aren't you ? The stormy weather makes your beautiful place a bit dramatic, it has to be so cosy inside the house, watching the elements roaring...I hope you were no to long power-less ... 😉

No I WISH I was in the UK @barbara-orenya I live in New England in USA on the Coast. I do visit UK as often as I can and would love to live there, but as an American I am not allowed to :/ I'd need some sort of high end career like surgeon or famous actor to get that.

Even a witch she is so charming^^ You painted her like that. A bit groteque and a bit fantasy. I am walking into your world you made a real world by your soul. Great work. Thank you ~~

Thanks @trueimagine I was trying to get a sort of creepy feel to her but with a bit of humour as well .

곰돌이가 @trueimagine님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.008을 보팅해서 $0.015을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 4123번 $48.046을 보팅해서 $51.466을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

I like everything in this piece, from the cat to the bottle of ink!
The video of the waves in front of you is so impressive! Maybe because I have not a similar view in front of me, but I like the sensation it reminds me. ^_^

Dear Silvia i would like to inform you that thre is a daily comment contest at nTopaz, https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@ntopaz/daily-comment-contest It is a very suppostive contset for good commenteers like you. Dear @donnadavisart you write beautiful comments, i think it will interest you too:)

Thank you so much @silviabeneforti I really liked how this one turned out as well.

The video doesn't even do it justice it was much more dramatic in real life then it would show on film. And we lost power after that for most of the day from the wind knocking down a power line.

I so love your B&W drawings. True Black and White. Kind of a Ansel Adams approach to drawn art. And I so enjoy this drawing of your witch and her 'familiar'. I had to go off and read a bit about that. Not a term I was fully familiar with. (No pun intended, it just came out that way when those two words rammed together on the page.)
Your ladies' familiar (the true one, not the octopod) reminds me of Stinky the Cat, who used to ride about on my shoulder. Hmm, maybe there is something here I had not thought of before. She DID have magical powers, though most were related to emptying a food dish and power napping with the best of them....

I have been SO remiss in chatting on here. But I am quite sure you understand, as staying busy seems to be a norm these days. Now that tax season is over, that might help. Though there is always SOMETHING I really should be doing, every minute of the day. They just never seem to be gotten TO.
I hope this little note finds you happy and enjoying life, even though you are getting 'battened' a bit by the weather, there at Toad Hall. Though what a grand way to spend a day, snug inside with your art, watching the weather bash itself about on the outer reaches of your warm and cozy house within. Cheerio(s) my friend.

Thanks @ddschteinn and I'm glad my little drawing sent you searching for the symbiotic realtionship of witch and cat :)

Well, Magic comes in all forms and finishing a food bowl can be one. My dear sweet Puss had a magic for mousing. She was a legendar mouser and since her passing we've had to resort to traps, horrid things. I feel bad killing them like that at least with Puss it was the cycle of life.

It was a good day to be inside yesterday, that is for sure. I really wanted to captrue the more dramatic look and sound of the waves, but my phone did not do it justice.

We then lost power about half an hour after this post for the remainder of the day. Luckily @winstonalden was home (his day off) and he helped me move a bunch of things about the house as I am often want to do. Busy day to the song of waves and now power or lights to aid us. Just another day at Toad Hall.

Toad sounds like a very exciting place to live. Back to the no power thing. That might get old now and then. But it's the joy, I suppose, of living 'on the water'. Or at least a stone's throw away from it.
I can relate to the mouse thing. The Stink HATED mice, had some sort of deep-seated 'thing' about them, and would do them in with a vengence. Once she passed on, we've had to do the same thing. Despite numerous rally meetings, how-to-mouse manuals, discussions, admonishments, and even an online kitty tutorial "The Mouse and You", NONE of the other cats have picked up the interest. I thought this mousing thing waas supposed to be a genetically innate thing in all puss's. Large Sigh [Here].
Well, I'm off, (and leaving this comment too O :
I hope your day is grand, and the electricity stays on. Oh, and what do you mean by moving stuff about. Just pushing the furniture around now and then to shake things up? Just have to be Curious D here. Cheers, my friend in the occasional dark and no-heat drear

Sorry I'm just seeing this now @ddschteinn but as I said, very busy. I do love Toad Hall. It suits me rather well as an introvert. The quiet of a mainly Summer area on a point in the sea is just about heaven. The only thing that would make it my Dream Home would be if it would be picked up and dropped into the UK either Kent or Devon, really any Southern county in the UK would make me happy :) But, beggars, as they say, cannot be choosers.

I miss Puss though I never asked for her. She simply was part of the house when we inherited. It was the last of a long line of cats that belonged to the grandfather.

"Moving Stuff About" means I am in the process of trying to re-arrange the main house as we have decided to move to the boat house for the Summer to let the main house for Summer lets. It will help us with the costs of such a place as this, which needs SO much work and is a bit high on the tax (both due to being on the Sea and our living in the state of TAXachusetts)

It's sort of exciting as we used to live in the Boat House in the Summers back in the day. When The grandfather lived in the main house we were there for a few Summers, it's small but funky and well, also on the sea, so no complaints there. BUT I have a lot of work to do, so that means ART as well as Garden and Decorating and Rehab (doing over the main bathroom) what we put up with will not do for paying guests, I can assure you of that :)

Well, that's a long catch up and I'm sure I'm missing good chats on your post. I'll try and get there tomorrow morning. I'm offline now for the day, ta!

Oh literally getting fresh ink and new quills, well then XD Looks like some pleasant weather over there :) Today it was raining in annoying amounts, just enough to not be able to hang out the laundry or take the middle child out for a bike ride (mostly because she just got a new bike that she's not used to yet and we have a lot of hoons in the area who think they are better drivers than they are and yeh wet roads). Not cold enough here for fires though XD

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The octopus is big and should probably have noticed it first but the cat is what I thought of as the Familiar in this cool art piece

very great post, my compliments dear @donnadavisart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01