[CR] Lokapa Figure

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0
Hey there! I'm back again with another painting based on photos I took at museums. Now, I forgot to take the photo of the description of this figure so I had to do a smidge of detective work as it seems this figure is no longer on display on the British Museum. Here is what I was able to find:

This is a Lokapala figure from the Tang dynasty which was founded in 618 AD and lasted until 906 with a famed interruption by Wu Zetian. Lokapalas are a kind of protector spirit. It seems there are varying Lokapalas depending on if their origin is Chinese or Indian. I didn't find much outside of a brief Wikipedia article but it seems Chinese Lokapalas figures represent the Four Great Heavenly Kings who fight off evil. It seems the Four Great Heavenly Kings are usually referred to as a collective rather than singularly as I didn't see any approximation of their names in Chinese but the descriptions of each are pretty cool. They are described as "he who hears everything," "he who causes to grow," "he who upholds the realm" and "he who sees all"

If anyone knows of any good resources about these Lokapala figures I'd love to check it out. Seems like there's not much written about them here in the US. You can see the full painting below as well as the photo I worked from!
chinese.jpg
20181017_092530.jpg

Sort:  

The value and tone in your painting is really beautiful @edgaruvm And I also love the color !



[nTopaz Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community.

We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

[nTopaz Curator]

                             
Another well done painting from your museum exploration. I also like that you described the figure extensively so I get to find out more about this Lokapala figures :D.

Very impressive, both your artwork and the figure:) Its a little funny, but from his pose, looks like a heavy metal singer on concert, lol. Maybe you could be inspired to create a background based on it:)

Hahaha I didnt even realize what the hand pose was even as I painted it


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love that colour scheme you are doing with these statues, Ed.... like negative neon? Ionno how to describe it but it's pretty epic <3 Love it <3

Very well done, you have skills! I included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85