Looking Up and Out Coronado California

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3Welcome to some of what you can see flying in the air from various places in Coronado California. When I took a free online stock photography class, a recommendation was to take photos of what you see often in your daily life. Repetition on themes is supposed to be good for learning the skill of stock photography, so I have a few themes with a lot of photos and “Flight” is one of those.

Coronado has a Naval Air Station on the north end of it, is one part of a training range for Marine helicopter pilots, and is near the international airport, so machines in the air were very commonly seen.

The first two shots are really of the Dole Ship leaving San Diego Bay though. This ship brings pineapples from Hawaii and leaves port each Tuesday when I attended the Farmer’s Market at the same time. This tells you how common the flights are since I have many planes and helos in my “Watercraft” themed photos too.

The first photo was taken on a nice clear day and also has a bird who kindly flew through.

The second shot is from a day with wildfire smoke and heavy tides. The ship is not where it is supposed to be, and tugs were working hard on the side you can’t see. They needed to push the ship straight, back in the channel, and on its way. As you can see I am losing the light as they fight. The shadows you see on the ship are palm trees from far behind where I am standing.

The third photo shows the prop plane from the Naval Station on San Clemente Island coming in over the beach to land at North Island Air Base. I was happy to catch the landing gear as it was deploying.

I have flown in this plane many times when I was a US Navy contractor. They also have a port out there, and as I worked for Port Operations, this was part of my job. I should write about how much fun squeezing into that tiny plane is when you are morbidly obese.

And last you see the same small plane over the beach with a spectacular sunset dropping off over Point Loma. The tower building is the lifeguard headquarters. Pollution is not a good thing, but sometimes it does have a silver lining.

I used a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera for these photos.

This post is my entry for the weekly Show Us Your California Contest by @socal steemit. Show us some of your California, and you can enter too!

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
I am a proud member of @socalsteemit. We bring Southern California to you on the STEEM blockchain. If you have a connection to this area, please join us. We would love to have you!

steemitmamas.png

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @fitinfun, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 150000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

When I saw the 3rd picture, I remembered my military life in Korean Airforce. I used to refuel CN-235 Aircrafts, as you uploaded the 3rd picture. It makes me give unforgettable memories. Thank you, @fitinfun

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations, keep up the great work!

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Thank you so much for your support. I really appreciate this help, @jzn :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99