Immigration Money Changers Don Mueang Airport

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0You cannot get any money in the Immigration area of Don Mueang Airport in Bangkok Thailand, but you can change what you have to other currencies here. These four booths are right after you got off your plane, and right before you get into line to be stamped into the country.

You need to have the equivilant of 10000 thb in cash-on-hand if you are coming to Thailand without a Visa.

You need to have the equivilant of 20000 thb in cash-on-hand if you are coming to Thailand with a Visa.

The immigration officer is not usually going to ask to see this cash, but if you are asked to show it and do not have it, they will not let you in. Words for the wise if you are coming to Bangkok for STEEMFest in November.

Since any currency will do, I am not sure why people change their funds in this spot. I took this photo last Sunday night as I arrived to Bangkok from Kuala Lumpur. If I turned to show you the other side of my view, you would see I am in a line of hundreds of people, from several flights, trying to get to the few open immigration counters at 7 pm. So I am not wasting time to change money here. I either got it already in the country I started from, or I will get it at one of many counters out in the airport proper.

If I am worried about changing cash at this point on my trip, my trip is not going well. Thankfully so far, I have always been in compliance at this spot and hope I always will be.

In 24 hours from now, I should be back at my condo in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. Wishing myself a safe journey now.

Sort:  

I’ll just use my crypto and either my Spend or Bitpay Visa cards, thanks, lol.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a law of Thailand, not a piece of general advice, @thelogicaldude.

If the Immigration Officer asks to see your fiat cash and you do not have it in commonly recognized bills, you will not be allowed into the country. Your sense of humor, bank statements, credit cards, debit cards or ANYTHING except for fiat cash will make no good impression and you will get to see what Thai Immigration Detention looks like while your figure out how to pay for your ticket elsewhere.

There is no place to get money in Thai Immigration. Your friend on the other side cannot pass it to you at this time.

I have been asked to show the cash twice in many entries. One time they counted it and once just looked at the stack of cash. I know of a case where someone did not get in with 9800 thb. So I think you might want to take this seriously.

So honestly I put my foot in my half asleep mouth before I fully read the post, lol. That’s wild though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, it is an unusual rule, but Thailand is not the only one to have it. I'm trying to say it over and over again so people coming for STEEMFest will know it. I would not like to see anyone turned away after making such a big effort to get here.

Sounds like I will just stay away from Thailand...Thanks for the advice.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you do not have 300 or so usd in cash equivalent - that is a good idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05