Ecstasy in the garden of Delights. Handcut collage.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ecstasyaa.jpg

One of my earlier artworks inspired by two of my favourite Baroque paintings Mary Magdalen in Ecstasy by Caravaggio as the main theme and The Garden of Earthly Delights by Bosch as background. Using my stained glass technique i drawn the figure on a transparent paper which used it as a guide to create the collage. I cut and pasted the pieces taken of prints with gradient colours on a black coloured hardboard. The bright red and the strange looking brown gave the collage a painting like effect which characterizes all the artworks created back then (2005/08). I used the gradient of colours to make highlights and shadows trying to give volume to the figure, having a fixed imaginary light source helped a lot in this.

ecstasya.jpg

Seeing it again after all these years i am surprised of how many pieces were used for its creation. I simplified things a lot in later years of course. I think what i aimed back then was the practice of skill and technical problems, the idea was secondary and that's why all of the artworks look like puzzles.

Details.
ecstasyab.jpg

ecstasyaaaa.jpg

Sort:  

@georgeboya I don't see this post on nTopaz platform. Please check it George! I used to have this problem and had to log out/log in again and repost !

Yes @livvu i had this problem. But now it is already posted at steemit, would it be reposted?

When it happened to me, I deleted the content of my previous post and posted again on nTopaz, maybe you can do that? It wasn't a problem when I did it.

Thank you for the help @livvu 😊 I will try a new one today and be more careful this time 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you georgeboya! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Thank you very much for the support @artzone and @nmalove 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi George, nTopaz ate your post. If you repost it, it will be a new post, different to this one.

It is a lovely work, the composition and colours are very nice, I love that back drop of blue/grey tiles against the bold, earthy colours of the figure <3 Wonderful work.

Yes, unfortunately it was eaten... I will try a new one today I hope there will be no problem.
Thank you @veryspider, I am happy that you like it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

i booped you at discord, we seem to keep missing each other's online times XD

Yes, different time zones is a bummer. Unfortunately Its morning here and have to go to work☹️

Posted using Partiko Android

SO MANY EXCUSES NOT TO FACE YOUR ARCH NEMESIS

I already prepared my theme song and everything >:C

Hahaha, not sth from the spider man soundtrack I am hoping 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

RESPECT THE SPIDERPIG >:3

Congratulations @georgeboya! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86