Painting by French artists of 19-20 centuries. Part 1

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0Last month I was at the Hermitage. That is, I have been there before, but now I visited the exhibition of French artists of the 20th century, in the General Staff building.
The idea to write about it here did not come immediately. I wandered around the halls for a long time, admiring the paintings of avant-garde artists. I was very pleased to see live pictures of Boudin, Paul Gauguin, Henri Matisse and the rest. That fascinating feeling did not leave me until I entered the town square.
But the reason I decided to write about them was that some time ago I would not have experienced anything but confusion, looking at works of art. What does cubism mean, or what is the difference between Fauvism and expressionism, or why Wang Gog is more like a post-impressionist artist, and what is the difference. This is what I wanted to share. It seems to me very important to understand why art has changed so much, and what it now means. And I will accompany all this with my photos taken at the Hermitage.

IMG_4099.jpg

Claude Monet - The Beach at Trouville

IMG_4097.jpg

Impressionism
I wanted to begin my description from this artistic trend, as the very first of those where artists allowed themselves to freely create, not relying on the schools of the past, creating something new.
The most famous representatives are Claude Monet, Auguste Renoir and Camille Pissarro.
Intermediate and teacher of Claude Monet is Eugene Boudin. It was he who had a great influence on the work of his pupil, and with his art he tied the representatives of the Barbizon school and his followers - the Impressionists.

IMG_4090.jpg

Armand Guillaumin - Seine

The artists worked outdoors, which allowed them to focus on the transmission of the variability of nature. They worked with sharp blows, focusing not on objects, but on the mobility of the environment. Pictures ceased to illustrate the plot, their significance became in the transfer of a fleeting impression of nature.

The next trends were Pointillism and Divisionism. Both of them belong to Neo-Impressionism and fully complete the work with the perception of color, I start with impressionists. Mastery in the transfer of color can be seen in the paintings of Gaetano Previati or Paul Signac. Properly distributing pure colors, they ensured that the human eye itself mixed them, as when perceiving sunlight in nature.

IMG_4106.jpg

Georges Seurat - View of Fort Samson

IMG_4108.jpg

Henri Edmond Cross - View of the church of santa maria degli angeli, near assisi

Thank you for watching! I will continue in my next post ;3

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@kurokikuro/ntopaz--kurokikuro--1100939222--ntopaz-artzone-art-ocd-resteem-photo--2019-05-04-01-41-39--artwork--none

Sort:  

It's great that you show us these great works. This could belong to our CU entries. The nTopaz platform consists of contest and general-creation and curation.

3-1. Contest[CO]: Competition and awarding methods for a given period of time through a set theme.
3-2. General-Creation[CR]: Entries free creative activities regardless of theme.
3-3. Curation[CU]: Introductory Artwork( Specify the origin and creator and appreciation is mandatory).

Also. we have active: Talent Curation Contest

Any questions, don't hesitate to contact us!

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Such beautiful pieces, @kurokikuro :) I love visiting art museums myself, and I'm glad that you took the time to share this post with us :) The paintings are very wonderful and I wish I could visit such places myself, but for now, I will enjoy them through your photos :D

Thank you :) You can come to us in St. Petersburg, in the Hermitage, and enjoy watching these pictures in person! С:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56