BORN FROM STONE

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

BORN FROM STONE

“I hate my father, he often beats my mom"
A six-year-old boy told me,
And a twelve-year-old girl said
"My mom was a prostitute, she passed away, my dad has had many lovers",
In the moments listening to them, my heart was not as calm as their eyes.

Family is the land in which all trees take root,
But not every father can be a mountain of wisdom,
Not every mother can be a river of love,
And not every brother, sister can be the air of joy,
Having someone to admire, to follow, to lead us in life seems so precious.

That emptiness may cause many years of loss,
It may make us the same as the things we hate,
But with our tolerance and compassion for this life,
We can be the tree growing up from the stone,
Using our existence to prove the opposite - the beauty of life.

- LV -

This poem I wrote based on my experience and reflection when I volunteered for a NGO which support disadvantaged children. Then I had an urge to make a sculpture to express my feelings for the little girls and boys I had met there. I could not follow up to see how they got on in their lives, but I wish they will receive more love and compassion from many people that could heal their inner pain and lead them in the right direction and a less sorrow life.

From the poem, I developed the concept and the structure for the sculpture. It is symbolic and shows a tree growing on the stone by itself and connecting with a fetus inside the stone. I made a quick sketch by pencil to visualise it.
2.jpg

I made the sculpture with white clay. First I took the fundamentals of the sketch to make the structure.
3.jpg

Then developed it more with other aspects to make it a complete 3D artwork. Here is final sculpture showing the different angles.
4.jpg

The clip of clay sculpture.

I glazed colors for the sculpture then burnt in wood-fired kiln. The glazed colors are not as I wanted, but it was a good learning experience for me.
6.jpg

The sculpture “Born from Stone” was chosen with the sculpture “The Persistence of Dali” for an art exhibitions at the Fine Arts Association in Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam on August 2017.
7.jpg

I’m happy that more people saw this sculpture and hope you like the story and concept of it.


If you like sculpture, you can see more of my work here:
HAND IN HAND
The Persistence of Dalí
FLY WITH ME
MOTHER SEA


Thank you all for taking time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it. It gives me great joy to be able to share my experiences with you all, exclusively here on the Steem blockchain. ❤
Thank you for your upvotes, comments, and resteeming this post ❤❤
@livvu

Sort:  

@Livvu really your hands are beautiful tools to create fantastic wonders worthy of contemplation, you are very talented, in this work is reflected your feelings and the passion you deposited in her, and your words are very wise and accurate: not all parents can be a mountain of wisdom, not all mothers can be a river of love.
This work of yours transmits a very clear and strong message, they are so motherly but at the same time cold and hard, thank you for sharing this beautiful sculpture, probeniente of a great artist

Thank you so much @inu-jim for your kind words. I am really pleased you enjoyed the post and the sculpture. It's a difficult topic to discuss, but I hope through art, we can remind others of the highs and lows of the human experience.

It is very beautiful and detailed Liv:) It must had a huge amount of work to be finished and to tell you the truth i like the unglazed as much as the finished result:) I loved the details with the roots being the birth cord, it so symbolic and strong as a message, is the flower a lotus? The title is also well an excelent choice, born of stone, born of coldness.Your poem make me very emotional, we live in a sad world.. people who should be parents are not and people who should not are. But i agree with you, family is much greater idea and family about is giving and receiving love:)

Thank you @georgeboya, the glazing didn't come out how I wanted unfortunately, so the just the clay also looks good in comparison. Those are leaves of a small tree growing out of the stone one top.

It was sad seeing children going through life with so little love, I hope we can do more to spread the message and bring some change.

You are very welcome Liv. I am sure this artwork stands as a good example of spreading this important message😊 I hope it will reach it lot of people😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It's sad that you do not publish very often, you really are an incredible artist, every time I see your works I am very moved by what they express. You are a person with a great and humble heart that is always fair to everyone and wants to help those who need it without wanting to get anything in return.

It is a very sentimental poem because of the subject, it is sad because of the emotional problems that many children experience in childhood. The sculpture is not left behind, it is the primordial piece that has all your love in it, I love the details that you have placed, the cord surrounding the stone and it is part of the tree, the small fetus is fed to live on the tree, besides that the anatomy of the fetus is incredible, to that we add that it is in 3D, a very complete work that represents quite well what you wanted to express.

Certainly just as trees can be born in such hostile environments, so to speak, they can grow very strong and beautiful. A child who has gone through some situation that you have raised can and will be a great person in the future thanks to people like you who want that nightmare to end and the time to dream comes.

Really Beautiful, Thank you for sharing and talking about such an important topic. Children are our future...

Thank you for your kind words @yanes94. I will try and post more regularly, 2019 has been quite a busy year so far.

It is difficult to express our feelings around such topics, but through art, I hope we can show others their message and encourage the creation of better communities that take care of the weak and vulnerable ❤

This is amazing. Iam greatly impressed!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Your story makes me cry. I hope that all those miserable kids will be happier in the future.
The sculpture is artistic, especially the baby in the stone is so vivid.

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you @catwomanteresa, your reaction shows amazing empathy ❤❤❤

Hello kind @livvu. Your work is full of feeling. The story behind the poem and the sculpture is a bit special and difficult to treat, they are children, small and defenseless humans who need to receive love and care, I also hope that they receive it. I embrace your saying: "we can be the tree that grows on the rock". This work of yours is really extraordinary and beautiful, today someone told me "genuine art does not need preambles", but, we would miss beautiful things like this if we are not able to use our words too. Thanks for sharing something so beautiful.

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you @elisonr13 for your kind words and encouragement.

These are difficult topics to talk about, but I hope we can share their message and encourage more people to work towards creating better communities so that children do not suffer, no matter who their parents are or where they are born.

Incredible! It shouldn’t be much longer until you feel all of the love from this one. Great sculpture, great article. Thank you for showing us this one.

See this @splatz?

Thank you very much @dandays and @splatz. Really appreciate it !

YEEE-HAAAA let’s do this!!!

it is very very beautiful!❤

Chị lên 5k số kinh khủng quá ạ

Posted using Partiko Android

stone baby is really amazing , everyone needs some love in our life , we can't see love but we feel it ;)
thank you for sharing with us @livvu

Thank you @cityofstars for taking time to read my post and leave a comment. I hope we can encourage more people to show love and compassion.

it's a pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64