[CR] #needleworkmonday :: Summer dress time again

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0
Happy, happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone!!


~ ~ ~🌼~🍧~🧵~🍧~🧵~🍧~🌼~ ~ ~


Last year, I made a couple of summer dresses for my mom and I shared them on #NeedleWorkMonday too but they were too small and I ended up needing to rip off the seams which did not seem to end. My mom is pretty small in size and I thought 1 meter of fabric was enough but I was wrong. Most of my fabrics are 1 meter because when I bought them years ago, it was because I liked the design and had no idea what I was going to use them for until now.

summerdress.jpg


I had a template to follow, which was her old summer dress but I altered the neckline the last round (me the smarty pants) which changed the fit entirely and made the top part rather small. So, this round, i decided to follow exactly or as close as I can the old summer dress.


~ ~ ~🌼~🍧~🧵~🍧~🧵~🍧~🌼~ ~ ~


Armed with my scissors and a 1 meter fabric I bought some years ago:

image.png


I placed the old dress on the fabric:

image.png


And started to cut the fabric. The fabric is not wide enough but it was longer than what I need. So, I cut the excess long top part of the fabric and add it to the sides before cutting the fabric according to the old summer dress:

image.png


After I have sewed on the top part of the cut fabric to the bottom sides:

image.png


I started cutting out the fabric according to the old dress:

image.png


And folded the cutout fabric comparing it to the template to make sure the shape is even on both sides:

image.png


I sewed the sides and hemmed the edges:

image.png


And I tackled the hemming of the armholes carefully and slowly, hemming it narrowly following the curve:

image.png

If the curves are hemmed to wide, the fabric will have excess bumps and folds here and there which won't look pretty.


Lastly, I sewed on the piping tapes as the straps:

image.png


~ ~ ~🌼~🍧~🧵~🍧~🧵~🍧~🌼~ ~ ~


And done! Hopefully, this time, it fits :P

image.png


~ ~ ~🌼~🍧~🧵~🍧~🧵~🍧~🌼~ ~ ~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


~ ~ ~🌼~🍧~🧵~🍧~🧵~🍧~🌼~ ~ ~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort:  

Lovely dress - I hope it fits and your mother will spend lots of great summer days wearing these colorful flowers :)

Thank you @muscara! I hope so too. She has been giving me an earful about last year’s dresses :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you so much @theluvbug! 💗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Making your own clothes, or for others, so satisfying! :-) Lovely summery fabric too :D


Curated for creativecoin.xyz

Thank you so much @soyrosa :) It is satisfying when it fits :D Crossing my fingers that it does.

What a cute dress! I have totally done that too - cut off excess in one place and tack it on to another place in order to make a pattern work. :D Great fabric. I hope she enjoys her dress!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much @helpiecake, @helpie and @vibesforlife!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Has she tried it yet?
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I call this fabric and pattern Tetris and I dare say: you won :-D
I am so with you... how often did I buy a nice bargain fabric (which is always pre-cut and mostly between 70 cm and 1,10 m) and then notice I need much more fabric for the plans I had... But you managed to squeeze a wonderful dress out of this fabric. I am amazed (especially about the schematics - wow)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75