"A Rip In Time" (Detail) by Matthew Holden Bates

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

"A Rip In Time" (Detail)

Oil on Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

This painting takes me all the way back to 1992, the first year I lived in Firenze after I was finished with school. "A Rip In Time" is based loosely on the short story "The Langoliers" by Stephen King which is part of the Bestselling book "Four Past Midnight". In the short story we find ourselves on a plane which goes though a portal. On the other side of the portal only people who were asleep survived. They wak up in a bleak reality where everything is grey and sad. It turns out they went to a place where the past lives, they are out of actual time/space and into a world that is about to be devoured by the Langoliers, the eaters of the past.

I loved the story and was inspired to paint a portal into another world. Why I chose Mars is beyond me, I don't even know if I had ever seen a picture of Mars like this before. We are talking about a time way before the internet. I must have seen something, maybe in a museum, I don't remember. I know that this is a very important painting for me, I still have, it is in my bedroom and I look at it in the morning every day. Here is the entire painting:

A Rip In Time.jpg

"A Rip In Time" Oil On Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

I was only 22 years old when I made this painting. I was different back then, more of a dreamer, plus the world was a different place. I would like to be able to follow my inspiration all of the way to the end of the painting, but that is hard, I have too much experience to leave my training behind, maybe when I am old and grey and my eyes are no good, I'll let the brush find its way across the universe again.

If you like my art and would like to see more you can follow me on Steemit @matteopaints and visit my official website . I appreciate your support, and would love to hear from you in the comments below. If you are an artist and would like to share your work with me leave a link to your work and I'll check it out!

A presto, Matteo

Sort:  

It is very good expression! Geometrically, it shows us how the object can be shown differently. So good to watch. Show us more ~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank You!!! I am glad that you like it!!

The 3D effect in this painting is more than impressive:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I watched it every time they passed it on the TV.
Seeing the works we did in the past really make us nostalgic, and yours is a very beautiful and personal memory that you honor us in sharing, and I love your painting Mars looks as if it saw through a telescope and the effect of the tear to representational looks very real, for a moment I thought it was about a torn canvas when I saw the thumbnail

Thank you!!! I really appreciate your reflection on my painting!!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.

Hi Matteo, I can remember very well "The Langoliers" that was my favorite movie, wonderful story, mystery and very well done. Nice painting, I like the way you created the edges, they really look like the paper that is ripped off. Nice to see your early works.

To model the ripped effect I remember that I actually did rip some paper to see what it would look like. I saw the movie too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55