Rorschach Study #1, A Bug

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0
Recently I was trying to discover a new style for my fractals. Until then, I was reluctant to use symmetries in my fractals, because I see tons of symmetric fractals all over the internet and I am trying to make my fractals stand out. So, if everyone uses symmetry, I will NOT! But, as I soon found out, the Great Old Ones had other plans... with their obfuscated machinations, they intended to subtly steer their Messenger of 1000 Masks straight into the thing he shunned so much!

As I was experimenting with various color palettes and fractal transformations, something began to take shape in my screen, hidden deep behind the mathematical formulas, and right behind the symmetrical effects of a "juliascope" final transformation. Here is the initial stage of the project:

image.png

I dug deeper, moving decimals and fractions out of the way, poking at algorithms and mutating formulas, until the shapes were clearer... Then, I dropped patches of color, having the shiny carapace of a beetle in my mind, reflecting yellow sunlight and diffusing reds and grays. When the shapes and colors were ideal for my taste, I put the fractaloid insect in the designated frame and quickly grabbed my old-fashioned camera to take a picture of it.

In this post, I present to you the photograph -- I hope you like it!

Sort:  

This is really cool @nyarlathotep Your fractals look impressive and unique

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you. I am glad you write this about uniqueness, because I try hard to make them different than the usual fractal art posted. I am happy horror now ;)

My pleasure @nyarlathotep. Looking forward to seeing your next posts

Posted using Partiko Android

I think this is one of your best artworks:) You cannot avoid symmetry forever,lol,it is everywhere,lol!
But you know how to add a little chaos in the order:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Yeah I totally see the carapace :) Oh great old @nyarlathotep may I experiment with using some of your fractals as style images for my photo mutations?

I bestow to upon you the grace of my tentacles, take the fractal spawns and do whatever you want with them!

The very first pass through the DDG yielded something interesting already :)

Can you guess what recent image of yours was the style?

I don't use raw output from the DDG in any of my final images, but this will be a cool layer to play around with.

EDIT: here is that style layer blended with a B&W texture layer I am playing around with (raw DDG image above set at 100% transparency and blend mode "multiply", BW image set at 75% transparency, white background) (I used a mutated version of this B&W texture layer as the base image for the DDG image I first shared, so not the same base image but closely related).

EDIT part 2 here is the black and white base image I am playing around with in this series of mutations - this is a crop from the None Shall Pass guy I shared recently, rotated 45 degrees clockwise and cropped. Mutated a fair amount from the stage it was at when I shared the other day though.
tentacle5 skullceptioncropception2 OGBW.jpg

They are great, there is so much detail and flowing, writhing tentacles! I think that the fractal you used is the Multiplanar Differential Rotor but who knows exactly what was the basis of this unspeakable mutation!

Twas Pyaray, the tentacled whisperer of impossible secrets. To be precise, this detail:

AHA! I have rendered this fractal in 4000x3000 pixels, the details are gorgeous. I have to render it again in even larger size and in the highest quality levels, may take some hours. Happy to see you found a good use for it, lets see how it turns out in the end after all the mutations ;)

I went back to the original base photograph that I had been working on for the None Shall Pass series and applied two of your fractals as styles, the below is the raw output of pyaray layer (75% transparency) and raw output of Cthulhu mural style image (100% transparency) (blend modes set to multiply) , mirrored. I am going to crop some new base images out of this and go to town :)

Original base photography for this set of mutations (decomposing marijuana root ball)

Awesome :) Will keep you posted and credited of course

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

It's amazing! I remember when I played with Lyapunov fractals in 1992 with my old Intel 286 processor. 2 days for a picture! Good times 😃

Thanks and, yes, I remember Lyapunov space too, it was one of the most impressive fractals back then, in the glorious days of Fractint! It all seems so primitive compared to the applications available now...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87