Watercolour Painting - Zygopetalum Orchid

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0I painted this art work a few years ago. I painted from life as I wanted to create a scientific painting that looked similar to those botanical paintings of the 18th and 19th century, which were used to identify plants.

Back in the day I worked at the Royal Botanical Gardens Kew and I saw many of these old paintings in the library of the herbarium.

I painted this art work in watercolours, I hope to do some more of these botanical paintings soon.

Sort:  

Beautiful watercolour artwork. It's a scientific painting but it looks very lively and artistic.
Thank you for accepting my invitation. Welcome to nTopaz!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks @livvu, I have just discovered nTopaz, I'm looking forward to using it more.

I like the color you use to paint the orchid which makes the painting so elegant.

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Hi @samuel-earp-art! Welcome to nTopaz, we're elated that you've begun to publish your art through this platform. We think you're a very talented artist and we're happy to have you here.

However, we have noticed that there is a small error in your publication, because for the watercolor contest it's mandatory to comply with the following rules:

1- New art only.
2- Some process photos must be included to validate your artwork.

Therefore, your publication will be moved to the [CO] category. If you want to know more about the contest you can read the following Rules

Also, we want to invite you to fill out your profile so that other users can know a little more about you and share the link through the channel [# profile-completion] (https://discord.gg/9XuR74) in our discord to claim the 100 Topaz Token

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines [EN][KR][ES]
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Hello @cafeconleche, no problem, I did paint this art work a few years ago so it's not recent. With my new painting I generally take progress shots so I'll include these in future posts. I'll fill out my profile as you requested :)

@cafeconleche I just tried the discord link and it said it was invalid!

Oh Samuel, excuse us. We don't know what happened with the link. Here we leave it again #profile-completion


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.

I love this. You captured the feel of the old botanical drawings perfectly. I love that style

Hello, samuel-earp-art. I love your artwork. First, because I love orchids, second, because your work reminds me those watercolors with which those romantics scientists, expeditionaries and, at the same time, artists that until the end of the XIX century were elaborating, lost in any of the exuberant American jungles.

Greetings from a Venezuelan artist... My little upvote to you ;-)

Reminds me of the audobon illustrations, good job.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh I love those oldschool illustrations. Photos are more accurate but just don't have the same feel. More botanical paintings would be great if you have the time :D

Hi Samuel, it is nice to see you in NTopaz and to enjoy your beautiful works. I noticed you wanted to submit this work for the contest, Unfortunately, it does not comply with rules of contest:

  1. the work should be NEW
  2. there should be process steps of your work.

Nevertheless, it is beautiful watercolor work and we could move it to the CR: creation section. If you would like to submit new work, we would be really happy for that. Cheers, @stef1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93