A happy baby elephant angel playing the piano.

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Hey Steemians. I don't have my usual glee as I type this one out.

First of all, it's 6:10am, and I've been working on this piece since 16 hours ago, when my friend posted that their 16 year old daughter passed away.... and it's national elephants day, and her daughter really loved elephants. Her husband posted a video of her playing the piano. I combined the two posts and made them a painting of a baby elephant ('cause 16 is way to young to pass) with angel wings, playing the piano. I chose warm colors, and a happy facial expression because I'd like to think that they want to think of the happy times as they think of her...

The mom just replied - as I write this - "Ori I am so in love with this! When I stop crying hopefully I can see it even better. 🐘💗" - Thank goodness! You have no clue how terrifying it is to create a painting for when someone dies.... If ever there was a reason to keep practicing every day to keep improving, it's that when I create memorial art, it is good.... I've given some portraits that I'm not so proud of. Humans are tough to paint... And trying to create something nice for someone, but having it not turn out so good... is quite a terrible thing.

I'm not trying to sound like a dick... but think about it. Someone passes, you want to honor them, someone gives you a terrible painting that makes them look bad.... You hide it in the closet, and pull it out when they visit..... You don't post it on social media. And the scary thing is - as an artist, I post these online... I tag the people, or post it to their timeline. And... emotions run strong for quite a while after a death.

The piece started in 3D. I wanted the piano to look kind of real, and the perspective to be correct. I also was racing the clock.... And 3D would let me place the elephant on the bench, in front of the piano (which started out as a baby grand,), and explore the final image's composition by moving the camera around, changing the focal length, etc...

Good night!

I'll be dreaming that you upvote, resteem, and follow :)

Sort:  

It is a very beautiful work, clearly this image expresses love and above all a great emotional load, I find it hard to believe that such a beautiful and happy image is inspired by sad news, it is a pity that this young woman has left this world so short age, and I really believe that this beautiful commemorative work is a great gift that you could give your friend and his wife to help them cope with this difficult time.
I'm sure she from the sky must also be in love with the image you created

Unique combination, inspiring by event in your life.

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

It's like that saying about life and lemonade. I certainly wish I didn't have to have this opportunity to create a painting.... It certainly added a little something positive to a horrific situation.

Beautiful perspective and lighting, the elephant angle is super cute 😍❤
[nTOPAZ curator]

Thanks @livvu ! -- I sculpted the scene in 3D before painting it, that way I had a fairly accurate reference for my perspective and lighting before painting. It's extra work, but, I get the result that I wanted in the end.

That sounds great. With great passion for art, extra work is nothing right @theartofori :-)

All the hard work paid off. The family loved it so much that at the memorial service, they're all going to be wearing shirts that I designed from this image.

Thanks @Melooo182 - I appreciate the enthusiasm!

Hi! :) That's nice! :)
Cheers!

Cheers! Glad you like it.

It gives off a nice and particular atmosphere. And the story is really beautiful! I liked it so much. :)

hola amigo me gusta tu obra de arte, es tan inspiradora, al combinar el piano y sus emociones. tambien tiene perceptiva, me usta los colores,bien hecho amigo @theartofori

Gracias por sus amables palabras, @dulce160. Esculpí la escena en 3D antes de pintarla, para saber exactamente la perspectiva que quería. Pero independientemente de la tecnología, fue una pintura muy emotiva, por quién fue y por qué se creó.

I curated your post for CCC!
I will share your link in my curation post soon!
xxx
Snekky

Thank you! That's greatly appreciated.

Also.... You seem to be named after my favorite cookie! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97