portrait of me and my lady without any reference

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0It was an awkward moment... this girl that has a crush on me was over... She drank all of my vodka and all of my tequila (I don't drink that much these days), and she was really trying to get me to get physical with her, but it wasn't happening.... Her behavior was a turn off, not a turn on.. and she was getting really emotional. She knows that I do my art every day, so I began my art, and was using that as a shield from engaging in behavior that I didn't want to partake in.

I started to paint, without having any reference. No photos or anything... I drew a couple staring into each other's eyes... and the girl started tearing up, said it looks like me & Gina. It does look like us :) I like the painting- the style, the texture... It looks nice and is personal. But mostly... I got to create it as and use it as a shield from something unwanted / uncomfortable.

Sort:  

Sounds quite like an emotional place when this piece was painted by you. Sometimes I think we do escape through art from uncomfortable spaces... The colours are really expressive, in this one, Ori !

Wow, talk about an awkward situation @theartofori! I really like what that discomfort translated into though; really cool artwork :) Thank you for sharing it, and thank you to @wakeupkitty for featuring your post in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry ( @pifc). Please consider joining us any week with an entry of your own; by helping others grow we build a stronger community ... and we'd love to have you with us :)

Art can make anything beautiful :) - And yes, I certainly appreciate @wakeupkitty. Tell me more about how it works submitting my own posts-- Is it finding posts that I think are epic and underappreciated?

Sorry for the late reply, but I see that @wakeupkitty picked up my slack :)

Is it finding posts that I think are epic and underappreciated?

That's it exactly! We run the contest weekly, Tues-Sunday. Check out @pifc's page, but here's this week's contest page. Maybe have a look at one of the entries to get an idea of how your entry might look. Hope to see you join us any week @theartofori :)

Have a look at @pifc (pimp your post) and also @felt.buzz both have posts where you can leave your own link for more attention.

I would also recommend to join an engagement league see @abh12345 his posts

There are creative communities you might like. If you use their tag they find you easier too.

Join #ccc, use that link if you have at least 200 words! If you want to be a member you place their invitation underneath your post (I wrote some more tips with my other account @wakeupkitty.pal).

and use tags people look at most as well (#life is one of them).

There is a site creativecoin.xyz too. You can post on that one too by using the tag #creativecoin under each post, no need to post directly on that site
(Sign in with your steemit key, see your wallet.)

If you like to recommend someone elses post you can do so too.
See @pifc for the rules. (Each week you can recommend 2 people but only if they are less as 64 I believe and the payout is under $1 or so).

Good luck.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. It's people like you that make me like this platform.... and that inspired me to write more and be more helpful (seen the comments of my last few posts? The devil / bikini ones were created just for being helpful here)

Posted using Partiko Android

I just visited you. Because of my slow connection it is not always possible to load posts. Awesome paintings you have/show and the text makes it only better.

Bet on different horses, alsoif it comes to your writing,thought, etc so you reach a larger public! You have a lot to offer.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 69. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Wow, art literally saves people from unwanted situation... That's something I don't see every day.

I like how you slip in your watermark that way instead of writing it as a separate thing(?) that doesn't look like a part of the painting, which is something most artists do, including me haha

It's a compromise... I'd love to put the big bold watermark - but... I also don't want to hide any pieces of the art. I want to share the art. In fact, you'll probably find that you get more shares and such if you have no watermark.... So, compromise, small'ish, transparent logo placed strategically on each image. If someone really wants to steal the image, they'll steal it anywhere. Most people don't know about resolution- they'll try to print it anyways, etc... c'est la vie.

Wonderful piece @theartofori. Isn't that just one of the best things about art, is your ability to shield or escape a situation. It's sad the painting hurt her, but she had to know she wasn't on the right path. Even being female, I don't understand that kind of behavior. I admit I am insecure in almost every aspect of my life, but to have to vie for attention in that way is painful to see.

You were featured in week 69 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @wakeupkitty. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your features.

Great art can turn anything into something beautiful. Granted, as they say "Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder".

I don't think the painting hurt her, so much as the fact that I'm not interested in her... And she'd been drinking (I haven't refilled my liquor cabinet since, just in case). I think she knew she was on the wrong path- but... alcohol - it makes us do crazy things. I've communicated since then (when she was sober) that I will never be in a situation where there is alcohol and both of us. Regardless, I love the painting, and so does Gina.

It was/is an honor to be considered for pifc. I'll definitely keep an eye out for posts that I think are epic.

I think this artwork is emotional.

No wodka, no tequila but a painting of you and Gina 💕

Thank you theartofori! You've just received an upvote of 12% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @theartofori When you upload a work on nTOPAZ, we recommend that you don't use the crop feature. If you don't use it, you can see the work not cropped 🤗

One of these days I'll have to read the manual. How do I not crop?

Posted using Partiko Android

Just don't mind the black 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mind the black, but many of my images are not 4:3 / 16:9 - so they do end up cropped, thus, there might be the black or whatnot... but there's also the full image. I"ve had many that I uploaded, which look complete, but are actually slightly cropped because of this. So including the black allows me to not have to crop my actual image.

6cudnh7kzx.png
See? The height of the selection = max. The width only covers most of it... That's what the black is on the sides. So.... I can either let it crop off part of my art, or, I can make it be full width, and thus the image doesn't get cropped at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55