[CR] Comission for a thought provoking writer

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5ntopaz-image-6ntopaz-image-7ntopaz-image-8ntopaz-image-9

I sometimes do commissioned work...

A little crude but the second image was the original concept sketch. I was told that @theironfelix’s character, Hero Victor would be fully clothed with no skin exposure, wearing a gas mask, sun hat and a bandana around the neck.I cleaned up the lines, made some minor adjustments and sent it off for approval. All I knew was that I wanted to be sure to capture the essence of this character and do it justice.The next step (which I sketched in a blue tone) was to tweak the sizing to ensure that all the proportions were accurate. This would be the second draft. How many other drafts would come after? I do not know but at this point it felt like I was on the right track. I went in with an ink pen, roughly shaded it and then sent this draft over to @theironfelix.

After going through several reference photos of people hanging out at the beach sunbathing and diy images on how to tie a bandana, Hero Victor was back in for a third revision. I noticed that the head was too small in the second draft so I adjusted the size and slightly changed the position. I also fitted the hat to the head and fluffed up the bandana for a more natural feel. Once I cleaned up the lines, I knew this was the on but what came next would be the biggest challenge. How should I color this and in what style?
Should it be drawn out again and shaded with pencil, a rustic inking or fluid watercolor painting? I tried almost everything before I landed on clean line-art and a clear vision of how I wanted to complete the rest of the image.

I didn’t want this post to be too content heavy so I’ll be sharing the step-by-step images of how I colored Hero Victor in the update, then I’ll be sharing the process video with a blurb from Vee’s creator, @theironfelix! In that final post, you’ll get to learn about the character, Hero Victor!


Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed my work!🦊

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That type of gas mask always seems like it would be pretty heavy and kind if in the way 😆 but if you need to breathe 😳

Looking forward to more process and eventually learning more about the character 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree! It does look really heavy but I’m sure breathing and staying alive is the number one priority! 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86