Beauty treatment with algorithm

in #ntopaz5 years ago

In a train on my way back to Paris I was reading the art magazine "Beaux Arts", (sitting on a train is for me the only way to turn the pages of such a magazine), and on page 6 something struck me...showing that reading can be dangerous.
There was the image of a girl's face with a makeup that was done very badly, as if she just stopped from crying. Ok I thought, that happens...but having this image in the art magazine, by the way a magazine that never accepted to show something from my works, made me read what it said underneath.

The original photo without makeup was shown to a machine programmed with AI to make its own images by observing what's going on watching Instagram. It analyzed 17000 publications to decide which makeup would suit best following actual tendencies...and at the same time got the journalist in ecstasy about how digital creations never stop to surprise us.

AI vs PI, artificial intelligence vs personal intelligence.
As I will never agree to accept the machine as my master but only as my servant, I guess that means that the day when I can see my works in this magazine, has not arrived yet.

In the meantime I can show you something that I called "makeup" a couple of months ago.


"Makeup & down"
original art by Werner Hornung


new 10.jpg


b.jpg


c.jpg


  HO  (280px, 25fps).gif

Sort:  

They don't know what they're missing out. Do you still send them your artworks or have you stopped already?

Your painting is dynamic and dramatic. I like it a lot! So many colors, textures and shapes, and it all still looks in harmony and round. I wouldn't see it as a make up though but rather as a beautiful head decoration :)

Do you still own the painting or have you sold it?

Thank you for sharing and have a great start of the week!

Thanks for your comment and time...this painting as all of my works are made with digital tools... meaning that I sell prints in limited edition.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for stepping by...

Yes, I feel the pain ...... you read a art mag, I went to Art Vienna exhibition, and had similar painful experience.
Garbage trucks at the loading dock.
Upvoted, resteemed and shared on FB and Twitter

I appreciate your echo on this... curators being the kind of person that will open their eyes only after a long trip around the world... two blocks away from where they live for sure isn't far enough.

Matt Gleason (Coagula Art Journal) once said anybody that pins something on their grandmothers fridge is a curator (by definition). But similar can be said about artists also. And you find plenty on steemit here - "curators" and "artists" ......

Wonderful @whornung and so true about AI

It is coming for us and what people don't seem to realize is when algorithms and simple 'logic' addresses problems the solutions can be fatal. We are heading towards an odd sort of future.

We artists can only document it as it comes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74