When Two Seasons Meet - Fall and Winter Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Hello everyone! Today I made a painting that comprises of two different seasons with similar background features. I used mostly oil pastels and a few colour pencils to create this artwork. The irony is I have never really experienced either seasons as I live in a tropical country where it is summer all year. Even though i have not seen them in real, I have seen them on many videos and pictures so I thought of making an artwork by combining two different seasons.

ntopaz-image-1

First of all, I divided my paper into two equal parts. Initially, I thought of just folding the paper in the middle but then I used my ruler later on just in case to make sure that they measure the same length and width. I chose to paint directly without any drawing as a guide. Sometimes it feels like a challenge but today it was fun and freeing in a way as I don't have to stick to a certain fixed guide. I wanted to paint the fall season first. I started my painting with some white to create some lighter shades on the sky. I am not sure if you can see the white colour picture above but I did paint it.

ntopaz-image-2

Then, I painted some blue and peachy colours on the sky. I built the colour up gradually.

ntopaz-image-3

I added a few other shades of blue and orange to add some depth. After that, I painted some mustard yellow for the rest of the sky.

ntopaz-image-4

I painted some mountains in distant and grass as well. I did mix a few shades of green randomly.

ntopaz-image-5

Then, I moved to the other section to paint the winter season. I mixed different shades of cool blues and white to create a gradient effect. I smudged the colours to blend them more and make the background look smooth and slightly cloudy.

ntopaz-image-6

I added some light purple as well. I painted white between the purple and blue to make the colours look more blended together.

ntopaz-image-7

Next, I painted some mountains in distant like I did earlier in the fall season, but this time, I used blue instead of golden brown. I also painted snow. I thought that using white mostly may make the artwork look too dull next to the fall season. So, I used blue again. I kept the ground area in the middle part white to create some distance.

ntopaz-image-8

Then, I painted a tree in the center of both seasons. I used oil pastel first but felt that it is not suitable for details. Hence, I used colour pencils. I switched back to oil pastels when I was painting the leaves on the tree in the fall season as it looks more vibrant compared to colour pencils.

ntopaz-image-9

I added more details where I drew a girl playing on a swing in the fall season. Then, I drew the same girl sitting near the tree in the winter season. I also added a few touch ups on the ground area of both seasons. The painting is complete. I hope that someday I will get to enjoy these seasons in real. Thank you for dropping by and I hope that you enjoyed reading my post. Have a great day ahead! =)

Sort:  

Hello @yashny, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for the support @creativecrypto =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Un dibujo original que muestra dos momentos distintos la alegria esperanza y trizteza asi nos podemos sentir de acuerdo al clima . Las tonalidades estan bien definida. Te felicito bien hecho @yashny

Gracias por el comentario! Tienes razón, el clima afecta la forma en que nos sentimos hasta cierto punto. Aunque no me identifico mucho con eso, he leído sobre el invierno haciendo que algunas personas se sientan deprimidas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dreamlike image ~ Hard to explain, but so reminiscent it is ~ The color holds a diminishing past ~ Astonishing ~

Thank you so much! I'm glad that you like it. It must be interesting and fun to experience different seasons.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97