How To Cope with a Life that Seems Unfair... Case and Point My Brother

in #oc5 years ago (edited)

My brother is 8 years older than me. About 3 years ago he suffered a catastrophic stroke. And we actually thought he was dead at the time.

It took...

him awhile to even start saying words. He is bed ridden and really incapacitated as far as communicating. It's permanent brain damage so he is in a semi vegetative state..

My Mother...

could bitch and moan about the woes of my brother and how unfair it is that such a sweet person like him could have a stroke at mid life. But she just refuses to do so.
Sure, it's not fair but I ( as well as she ) learned a long time ago that Life is not always fair.

The Way I Cope...

with this unfairness that can get the best of us in Life is to look at the small miracles that happen in a bleak situation. Just the other week while my uncle and aunt were visiting my brother, my brother starting reciting bible verses off the top of his head. As clear and perfect as any normal person could do. I might even say 'preacher like'.
My Mom and Dad as well as my Aunt and Uncle were beyond astonished.

Conclusion....

Bad things do happen to good people. There is no question about that. But if you really look hard enough there are little silver linings that do happen and just for a small time they lessen the degree of a situation that seems hopeless. Over time if you get enough of these positive things happening, the more you realize how blessed we all are to be on this planet.

And you realize that you can indeed survive and yes even thrive in a World that is unfair :)

My brother and Mom( my hero) this past Summer at his Nursing home.

IMG_1096.JPG

Sort:  

I really support and love this attitude.

Each day I see people upset they got the wrong flavor in their latte, and I think to myself, you've had a very easy life.

:)

Cheers to your family, life is filled with easy and challenging situations.

Remain strong, nothing is fair, it's how we deal with it that matters.

You have the mindset of a total champion trooper and I commend you to INFINITY and BEYOND!!! Your attitude will not only take you far but it is pivotal in your own healing too. Such a beautifully heartfelt piece xxx

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

I saw this post on Twitter, thanks to @theluvbug. I figure the Universe put it in my path because I really needed this reminder right now - no, life isn't fair, but that doesn't mean all is lost. Thank you for this, and sending lots of positive thoughts to you and your family. 🤗

You - and your mom! - are to be commended for living like leaders and doing the right thing. It can be so easy to throw in the towel; it's heartwarming to see good people step up and show the world what's really important.

!tip

So sorry ... I have learned early in my life that ... life isn’t fair .... and I’m glad you can find the silver lining in the horrible things.... today is especially difficult for me to see the silver linings ..

Wow, that is awesome! The human mind is a really interesting and mysterious thing! Hopefully he can have some more moments like that in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that’s pretty amazing, bible verses! I wonder what type of verses? Love, repentance, 2nd coming. Interesting.

@robertandrew

bad things happen to good people

It's a hard lesson to learn, but an important one. And when peple like you share lessons, they do teach us not to loose hope

We are so sorry!

Last night STEEMAUTO had a bug for several hours and we downvoted INSTEAD of upvoted. The bug has been fixed.

I'm going through and removing all downvotes, replacing them with the corresponding upvotes.
Thank you for understanding. ❤️
image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99