Keeping the memories alive | Let's talk about cutie-pies and older siblings

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago (edited)

IMAG1385.jpg

swushes-steem-green.png

My older siblings

My mother had two children before I was born. They have another father than me. My sister is already eight years old, and my brother will turn six this year. Unfortunately I only got to meet them once in my life. It's a long story, that you should ask my mother about, because I only want to keep the memories alive by telling about them here today. The one time we met, I was constantly smiling because I liked my brother and sister a lot. But I was only a baby back then, but I could tell that especially my sister was crazy about me. She is a real mother when it comes to younger siblings, I know this, because my mother always tells me that she wanted to help change my brothers diapers too.

swushes-steem-green.png

My mother thinks about my siblings every day

In the past years it has been rough for her, and she really has had to work hard emotionally to find a way coping with missing them. Because as I grow up, she thinks back about when my brother and sister were my age, and what they learned at that time. These memories make her cry sometimes, but sometimes she also has to laugh really hard, because of a funny story that she remembers all of the sudden. Because my mother does have pictures of my sister and brother on her phone and laptop, I see the pictures every day. And since a few months I always try to say my sisters name when she unlocks her phone. At first it sounded exactly the way that my sister pronounced her name when she was my age, so that brings up some funny memories for my mother. But now I'm learning to pronounce words better every day, and guess what? I can almost say her name correctly. My brothers name is still too complicated for me though.

swushes-steem-green.png

I love cats, and so do my siblings

I guess it's in our genes, because my parents are real cat persons, and so are all of we. We have hundreds of pictures here of my sister and brother cuddling with the newborn kittens back in Holland. They adored those fluffy creatures. And I can't blame them, we have had a cat too in Spain, and he was my biggest (and hairiest) friend. The picture above this post is one of the memories my mother loves to talk about, because those little creatures gave so much joy in their lives. Back then they were already struggling to fight for justice, and my siblings combined with those fluffy kittens made sure they smiled every single day. I guess I will have to listen to those cat stories for the rest of my life, but I don't mind listening.

swushes-steem-green.png

Cutie-pies

My sister was about five years of age at the time of the last nest filled with fluffy kittens, when my sister told my mother: "Oh mommy, they're all such cutie-pies!!!!" My mother can still hear her say it, and it sounded so darn cute, that she will probably not forget this in her life. My sister kept saying this several times a day, so it was something that could not be forgotten. While a cutie-pie is a sweet nickname anyways, my mother decided that there was only one possible name for this savings account for me and my siblings: "cutie-pie". Not only will this keep the memory alive of my siblings and the kitty-cats, but also does it feel like a small ode to my sister.. She is the reason my mother thought of the Steemit account name.

This was my first post of sharing a precious memory about my siblings told by my mother. I will try to share more of those in the future to keep the memories alive while we are missing them. Hope you enjoyed reading, and don't hesitate to leave a comment below.

swushes-steem-green.png

Sort:  

That's such a sweet memories you just shared, thank you!

Aw sweet memories and the best part is u will always have them, no one can take them from u. 🌺 i upvoted this and wanted to let u know i found your post from our discord group. Aloha

That really is a cute story @cutie-pie, and a very precious memorie. Good of you to tell them here, so they never get lost.

Congratulations @cutie-pie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cutie-pie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cutie-pie! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60