A photo by day for 28 days. Photography contest | 2nd week

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago (edited)

"I only know how to approach a place by walking. For what does a street photographer do but walk and watch and wait and talk, and then watch and wait some more, trying to remain confident that the unexpected, the unknown, or the secret heat of the known awaits just around the corner."
Alex Webb

A year ago in February I participated for the first time in the photography contest: # UnaFotoxDíax28días. With this series of publication I want to share part of the experience and a few stories about the images that I capture.

In the second week of the constest the idea was clear: I wanted to portray the streets and people of my city, San Cristóbal. This meant I had to be attentive to capture the most accurate moments that I saw on the street for the daily assigments. So, in some way all the activities of my routine, since going to class, buying at market, going for a jog, visiting friends or even the route back home became the best opportunity to take the photo of the day.


Emanuel_Lizcano8.jpg
8. Un se está haciendo tarde. /An it's getting late.

"An it's getting late" was the first assignment of the second week. The issue of the urban transport crisis caused me interest. Every day I witness the brutal deterioration of this service in the whole city and in the rest of the country. I took this photo in the morning while waiting for the college bus, I found in this scene a mixture of feelings; On the one hand the rush of the students to reach their destination, in contrast to the harsh reality of the people who still have to wait. The lady's face was a poem, demonstrates the fatigue of waiting and the worrying idea of not arriving on time or just not arriving at all.

Something to emphasize: the university transport service is also on the verge of collapse. The students are looking for ways to maintain operational the service, so they are doing a fundraising campaign #SalvatuRutaUNET Here's the link so you guys get to know the project and help :-)

Emanuel_Lizcano9.jpg
9. Una tasa de cambio, favorable. /A favorable exchange rate.

The theme for this day was "A favorable exchange rate" I went after images of the informality, of the businesses that are often done on the sidelines. The popular market "Los Pequeños Comerciantes" was the place I chose to take the photo, here informality is something of the everyday. A friend calls it "marginal photography" and it seems to me a very fine concept; the intention was to capture the beauty of the ordinary, of the mundane.

In this photograph, two projects coincided: my friend Maria Alejandra ask me to allow her to edite and intervene one of my photos to participate in a call for artists from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB). Her proposal was chosen for a temporary artistic installation in the Paseo de las Américas, Mendoza Argentina. It was a very nice surprise when we found out it was selected.

Emanuel_Lizcano10.jpg
10. Un curriculum vitae. /A curriculum vitae.

"A curriculum vitae", for this topic I went to take pictures at the "La Concordia" parish at south-west of the city. In this area there is a mixture of commercial and residential activities; so it's full of family businesses. I took this photograph in a mechanical workshop, the idea behind was to highlight the skills and aptitudes that a person must demonstrate during the practice of his craft, so that the faculties that could be relevant in an interview were printed in the photo.


Emanuel_Lizcano11.jpg
11. Un número romano. /A roman number.

For the 11 day, the assignment was "A roman numeral." The intention for this picture was to create a framework that made reference to a roman numeral and that at the same time served to frame the scenes that I wanted to capture. Again the public transport issue was present. The image shows the waiting and fatigue seen every day at the bus stops. One of the challenges was to learn to go unnoticed so that people would act naturally when they were portrayed.


Emanuel_Lizcano12.jpg
12. Un maniqueo. /A manichean.

"A Manichean" refers to someone who follows the doctrine of Manichaeism; a universalist religion that belives in the existence of two contrary and eternal principles that fight with each other: good and evil, so it is fundamentally dualistic. To explore these concepts for my photography, I visited "Nuestra Señora del Carmén" church and wait until the end of the Mass to start making captures. I had in mind to make the photo in black and white and I really liked the result but I wish I had made a more symmetrical image.


Emanuel_Lizcano13.jpg
13. Un bajalengua. /A tongue depressor.

"A tongue depressor" was the theme of the 13th day, which was also a Tuesday: Tuesday 13. They say this is bad luck day, and although I am not very superstitious, the photographs for this day weren't really good; I was too slow to take the pictures, I did not have the camera when I had to, and I was busy all day. I didn't get the shot, not until late afternoon that I managed to take this picture while studying at a friend's house. This isn't one of my favorite photos but it was adapted to the theme. And there were still 15 photographs to finish the challenge and so I continued.


Emanuel_Lizcano14.jpg
14. Una virtud cardinal. /A cardinal virtue.

On the 14th day the topic was "A cardinal virtue", these are four: Prudence, Courage, Justice and Temperance. It was a very cool subject! I feel I had to work harder with that assignment. My instinct took me to the Metropolitan Park of San Cristóbal. I walked through it several times until I found that scene:sSome girls in a skating class, I thought they perfectly embodied the virtue of Courage, which Plato defined as the exercise of emotions and the spirit. I sat nearby and waited a while, I wanted to take the picture in backlight. This is another one of my favorite photos of the competition.


semana_2.1_final.png
SECOND WEEK
BENQLH500 Camera | All images are my own.
Little by little the project was taking shape, in this second week I wanted to affirm the identity that the whole series of photographs would have. So I continued to set the guidelines for the coming weeks. The decision to look for a human protagonist immersed in urban settings was the revelation of this week's work.

Thanks for reading and good vibes!



Take a look to the photographs and stories from the previous week:
semana_1.1_final.png
"I took the challenge as an opportunity to improve my photography..."
FIRST WEEK


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://eaamez.vornix.blog/2019/03/28/a-photo-by-day-for-28-days-photography-contest-2nd-week/

Sort:  

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION in collaboration with STEEMPRESS.
theunion.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eaamez from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @eaamez! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice photography with real theme.

Thank you! I'm glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66