Drawing the Poster of "Bohemian Rhapsody" (Process) #SteemArt

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago (edited)

Imagen1.png

Hello Dears!

Today I bring to you the process of a tribute to one of the artists that marked a milestone in the world of music, acclaimed for generations, Mr. Freddie Mercury, vocalist of the group Queen, who, today more than ever, is still alive in the hearts of their fans, so much so, that we are all looking forward to the premiere of the new movie "Bohemian Rhapsody" based on the life of the artist who captivated us with his music. The film will premiere on November 2, 2018, and the protagonist will be the actor Rami Malek, playing Mercury.

Personally I grew up listening to songs from Queen , but, in short, the song I clicked on with the band was "I want to break free" . I think we've all celebrated with "We are the champions" or wished for love with "Somebody to love" . Tell me in the comments, What is the song you like most about this iconic band?

Without further ado.

We get to work with "Bohemian Rhapsody"

The materials

  • White Cardboard of 16.2 x 12 cm
  • Water-based markers
  • Paintings
  • Graphite pencil (For the sketch)
  • Be a fan of Queen (Important)

Design

The design of this drawing was based on both promotional posters of the film "Bohemian Rhapsody", which I joined to generate a unique design. Taking the silhouette of the first poster and its background to attach it to the poster that only shows us the face with the iconic mustache and lenses of the artist.

Sketch

As always, I made a sketch without many details in pencil, following the design I had in mind, when I was happy with the result I started to inking with a thin black marker.

Silhouette

I started with the silhouette on the stage, after inking the sketch I gave myself the task of filling the silhouette with a thin black marker, trying to leave some blank spaces that would represent the lights, so that the filling would look more uniform, with a wet brush I diluted the ink a little in some areas of the drawing, and so that the shadows did not look so hard, with a change from white to solid black, I added a shade of gray, which I also diluted with a damp brush.

Presentación1.jpg

Scenario and Contours of the Face

For the scenario, fill with gray the area that would be of the stands and then I gave a layer of solid yellow marker as a base to the stage and then moistened the whole area with a brush to add brushstrokes of red ink (I extracted a red marker ), which gives that effect orange to the lights, also with a bit of black ink I made the shadow of the silhouette on the stage. For the contour of the face, I just painted the sketch and gave the artist's hair and mustache a black base.

Presentación2.jpg

Face

The face had two stages, the first stage, was to place the lights and shadows with three colors (Yellow, pink and purple), yellow corresponded to light and purple to shadows, while pink to the function of neutral tone, this would add the colored lights and would give a "Special" effect to the drawing. I did it with markers that I then diluted very well with wet brushes, when the drawing was dry and I was happy with the result of the lights, I went to the second stage and gave a thin but uniform layer of skin-colored paint, which would give uniformity to the face . (For those who did not know this technique and are not afraid to ruin a drawing, TAKE NOTE).

Presentación3.jpg

Shadows and background

I added shadows with black paint to the face, which gave more definition and depth to the drawing, then add in the background a gradient from purple to yellow that combines very well with the lights of the face and the colors of the stage, with the same tones of marker used in the lights of the face.

Presentación4.jpg

Final work

Add a couple of corrections, with a droplet of purple ink I gave color to the artist's sunglasses and I gave definition to the letters of the ad "Bohemian Rhapsody".

Imagen2.png

I leave you a picture of me with the drawing (I found a shirt that combined with the colors :3)

That's all for today. Any questions or suggestions do not forget to leave me your comment, remember that you motivate me to be better and continue to work hard in my post, they are the best readers in the world.

Follow my steeps...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97