Homemade Cream Puff Tower

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

Hello!

I made this following cream puff tower for my son's 1st birthday. It is a tradition in our household to have a "smash-cake" that is not common.

If you Google, smash cake is usually a buttercream covered cake (although today some would have fondant cake, but that won't be too easy for babies to smash, right?), and sometimes they are made entirely of chocolate.

But in our house, we made dessert towers! - of cake balls or cream puffs :D

Why not regular cake?

Well, just because! They are easier, quicker, yet create the same messiness :D

See? Hahaha!

1.jpg

Ingredients

  • 200 ml water
  • 100 g butter
  • 120 g AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 3-4 large eggs (3 if you'd like your cream puffs taller, but since I needed a lot to make tower, I used 4 eggs and made 33 cream puffs).

Method

  • Bring water to boil, add in salt and sugar plus the butter, stir to melt completely
  • Once your butter dissolved, turn heat to low and add in flour. Stir in quick motion as mixture will be thickened as shown on the picture. Take off from heat.
  • Once dough is off heat, let cool for 8-10 minutes, until warm to the touch. Then using electric mixer, mix in the egg, one egg at a time.
  • Place dough (or batter it became) into a piping bag with any tip you prefer, star or even round. You can even drop it by tablespoon (depending the size you wish to make). If you are good in piping, as in making the size equally big, by all mean, pipe away, onto a greased sheet. If not, you can pipe batter onto muffin tins, so they would bake the same size each time. Don't forget to grease the muffin tins as well. Bake in 395 F for 25 minutes. During baking time, do not, I repeat, DO NOT open the oven door whatsoever, or they will collapse once taken out of the oven.
  • Once cooked, take out of oven, and onto the cooling rack they go.

Filling and Stacking

Normally cream puffs are with vanilla or Boston cream filling, but for this smash-cake, I filled ours with chocolate pudding.

For sure you can fill them with whatever you wish. Savory or sweet, or even plain whipped cream and fruit slices.

As I wanted an easy work, I filled them with store-bought chocolate pudding even :P

For stacking the puffs, I used melted chocolate to glue each of them, to stay intact nicely.

For the 33 puffs, I used about 180 g milk chocolate chip and just slightly more than 2 tbsp of butter. Heat in 30 seconds intervals in microwave, stir to melt.

For this tower, I used 7 puffs as the base.

You need to make a cut on each puff to fill them (shown on picture).

Spoon or pipe the pudding in each center, and pipe tiny bit on the serving plate so the base puffs don't move away while stacking. Once the base is ready, pour a tablespoon each of melted chocolate on top of them. Repeat steps until all puffs filled and stacked.

Your cream puff tower is ready to destroy!


Once I am back fully, I will resume my daily theme, so that it would be easier for you to find them :D

Thank you!

All photos and recipes on my Steemit account are mine. You can also find them posted on the following links!

Find me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/indorecipedotcom/

Find me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/becakpilot/

Find me on Instructables: https://www.instructables.com/member/klinong/

Sort:  

Very nice step by step instructions @indorecipe! Looks delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I like the idea of having something special. And it's nice to see a 'tradition' of your family :) They look very simple to make and I like that they are versatile. I'm sure your boy doesn't care that much about the look as he cares about the taste :)

It also looks like a great party cake! Well, your guests would probably get a little bit dirty but this is what makes it nice :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe! Happy baking! :)

I just drank three Imperial Stout's and have never been more hungry! Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95