#streetnextturn : Grocery store vs Open market

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_20180121_205846.jpg

I buy groceries a.k.a vegetables, pepper, onions and food/soup ingredients from the open market as opposed to buying it from a groceries store which usually is often preferred because of perceived hygiene and maybe preservation methods.
So, I'm Nigerian and live in southern Nigeria and may I add, I grew up here too in a middle class setting.
My mom buys groceries in the open market which is normal in a traditional African society. I am yet to be convinced why I should do otherwise when I still have the time and of course the energy to move around to get what I want in quality, freshness and quantity even at distinctly lower cost and with varying options.
And the most beautiful twist to it is buying from the farmers themselves or first level uptakers in which case you may choose to tip or put an instant smile on the faces of these humans with extra notes and or coins.

Africa is known for its communal living and this goes a long way in promoting love and unity and peace within and outside the community.

Let's get to the open market and do some groceries shopping. Put a smile of someone's face and give them hope that tomorrow holds better times.

**words and photo by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59